Siobhan Haughey Blasts Fourth-Fastest 100 Free Of Career In 52.85; Double Gold For Dylan Carter In Canet

Siobhan Haughey: Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Siobhan Haughey Blasts Fourth-Fastest 100 Free Of Career In 52.85; Double Gold For Dylan Carter In Canet

Olympic silver medallist Siobhan Haughey swam the fourth-fastest 100 free of her career in 52.85 at the Mare Nostrum in Canet.

Haughey made her third trip to the podium in Canet following gold in the 200 free and silver in the 50 in a Hong Kong record of 24.56.

On Sunday she split 25.38/27.47 to go third in the rankings behind Mollie O’Callaghan and Shayna Jack who went 52.63 and 52.64 at the Australian Championships.

European champion Marrit Steenbergen was second in 53.42 with Cate Campbell – who won bronze behind Haughey at the Tokyo Olympics – next home in 53.78.

Haughey’s three fastest times all came in Tokyo where she went 52.27 for an Asian record en-route to silver following 52.40 in the semis and 52.70 in prelims.

Her Canet blast eclipses the 52.92 she did at the Hong Kong time trial in June 2021 and marks her fifth voyage inside 53 seconds.

Double Gold For Carter; Sjostrom On Top Once More

Dylan Carter twice topped the podium in Canet, winning the 50 fly in 23.36 as 0.13 separated the first three home with Szebastian Szabo (23.40) and Oskar Hoff (23.49) following the Trinidad and Tobago swimmer.


Dylan Carter: Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

He then returned for the 100 free where he held off a fast-finishing Kamil Sieradzki to take the title in 48.94 to 48.98.


Carter: 23.40/25.54

Sieradzki: 23.68/25.30

World silver medallist Maxime Grousset was third in 49.16.

Sarah Sjostrom enjoyed a 25.24 win in the 50 fly – her second swiftest time of the season behind her 25.04 rankings topper at the Swim Open Stockholm last month.

Melanie Henique (25.77) and Rikako Ikee (25.89) completed the Canet podium.

Honda Flies To Title; Double IM Gold For Ogata

Tomoru Honda shared the 100 fly title with Jakub Majerski on Saturday but there was no doubting his victory over four lengths, finishing 0.86 ahead of Krzysztof Chmielewski in 1:55.09.

It was the Japanese swimmer’s third swiftest of the season behind his efforts of 1:53.34 and 1:54.43 at the national championships last month that occupy the top-two slots in the rankings.

The Pole was second in 1:55.95 with Leonardo de Deus taking third in 1:57.19, 0.01 ahead of Richard Marton.

Airi Mitsui came from fifth at halfway to win the women’s race in 2:09.13 with a second 100 of 1:06.27 ahead of Helena Bach (2:09.85) and Ana Monteiro (2:10.45).

So Ogata added the 200IM to his long medley victory when he was the only man inside 2mins in 1:58.47.

Fellow Japanese swimmer Tomoyuki Matsushita was second in 2:00.64.

Ndoye Brouard And Gorbenko Win 100 Back Titles In Canet

European bronze medallist Yohann Ndoye Brouard split 27.26/27.62 to win the 100 back in 54.88.

Yohann Ndoye-Brouard of France competes in the 100m Backstroke Men Final during the FINA Swimming Short Course World Championships at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre in Melbourne, Australia, December 14th, 2022. Photo Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Yohann Ndoye Brouard: Photo Courtesy: Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

The Frenchman was the only man inside 55secs with Cameron Brooker leading home British teammate Brodie Williams in 55.21 to 55.80.

Anastasia Gorbenko came from fourth at halfway to win the women’s race with a 31.13 second 50 propelling her into the wall in 1:00.50 ahead of Adela Piskorska (1:00.59) and Ingrid Wilm, who led at the 50, clocking 1:00.66.

Andrew Takes Title, Watanabe Upgrades To Gold & McSharry Makes It Three

Michael Andrew won the men’s 50br in 27.22 with the American and Jan Kalusowski (27.98) the only men inside 28.

The women’s race was a far tighter affair with Commonwealth champion Lara van Niekerk touching 0.02 ahead of Imogen Clark in 30.37 to 30.39 with Mona McSharry third in 30.71.

Ippei Watanabe upgraded his 100 breaststroke second to first over 200 in 2:10.08 with Dawid Wiekiera – winner of the two-length race – second in 2:12.28.

Thea Blomsterberg won the women’s 200br in 2:25.80 with McSharry second in 2:26.44 and Marina Garcia Urzainqui third in 2:27.61.

It completed a fine meet for McSharry who won a medal of each colour following 100 gold.

Norway 1-2 In 800; Victories For Martins & Lesaffre

Jon Jontvedt won the men’s 800 free in 7:54.11 ahead of Christiansen – who came from fourth at the final turn to win the 400 free on Saturday – with the 2019 world silver medallist touching in 7:55.32.

Francisca-Soares Martins added 400 gold to the 200 bronze in 4:08.77 with 800 winner Agostina Hein second in 4:10.68.

Fantine Lesaffre won gold in the 400IM in 4:37.60, a day after second in the short medley.


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x