Olympics: Zac Stubblety-Cook, Arno Kamminga Tie as Top Seeds in 200 Breast

Jul 27, 2021; Tokyo, Japan; Arno Kamminga (NED) and Izaac Stubblety-Cook (AUS) after the men's 200m breaststroke heats during the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Summer Games at Tokyo Aquatics Centre. Mandatory Credit: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports
Arno Kamminga, right, and Izaac Stubblety-Cook; Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher/USA Today Sports

Editorial content for the 2021 Tokyo Olympic Games coverage is sponsored by GMX7.
See full event coverage. Follow GMX7 on Instagram at @GMX7training #gmx7


Olympics: Izaac Stubblety-Cook, Arno Kamminga Tie as Top Seeds in 200 Breast

It was almost a preliminaries of the men’s 200 breaststroke that was fit to be tied.

The final two heats of the event each ended in ties, though the final one was broken by a disqualification. It leaves Izaac Stubblety-Cook and Arno Kamminga, the winners of the next-to-last heat of the event, the joint top seeds entering the semifinals Wednesday.

Kamminga, the silver medalist in the 100 breaststroke, was out under world record pace for the first 150 meters before coming back to the pack. Stubblety-Cook closed faster, and they hit the wall in the penultimate heat in 2:07.37, just 0.15 seconds off the Olympic record.

The final heat also ended with a tie, Nic Fink and Qin Haiyang touching in identical times of 2:08.48. But a disqualification went up on the board for Qin, leaving the American Fink alone as the fourth seed. In between was Finland’s Matti Mattson, the winner of the third-to-last heat.

Anton Chupkov is also safely in after a 2:08.54. Both Japanese swimmers – Ryuya Mura in eighth, Shoma Sato in 11th – are comfortably in.

“I wasn’t as fast as usual, I’m not very satisfied with my performance,” Sato said. “I will definitely have to swim a better time in order to win the final.”

The second American, Andrew Wilson, ended up 17th and out of the semifinals.

Men’s 200 breaststroke

  • World record: Anton Chupkov, Russia, 2:06.12 (2019)
  • Olympic record: Ippei Wantanabe, Japan, 2:07.22 (2016)
  1. Izaac Stubblety-Cook, Australia, 2:07.37
  2. Arno Kamminga, Netherlands, 2:07.37
  3. Matti Mattson, Finland, 2:08.44
  4. Nic Fink, United States, 2:08.48
  5. Anton Chupkov, Russia, 2:08.54
  6. Erik Persson, Sweden, 2:08.76
  7. Dmitriy Balandin, Kazakhstan, 2:08.99
  8. Ryuya Mura, Japan, 2:09.00
  9. Kirill Prigoda, Russia, 2:09.21
  10. Matthew Wilson, Australia, 2:09.29
  11. Shoma Sato, Japan, 2:09.43
  12. Antoine Viquerat, France, 2:09.54
  13. Andrius Sidlauskas, Lithuania, 2:09.56
  14. Lyubomir Epitropov, Bulgaria, 2:09.68
  15. James Wilby, Great Britain, 2:09.70
  16. Ross Murdoch, Great Britain, 2:09.95


  1. avatar

    Does anyone know why Qin Haiyang was disqualified?

    • avatar

      Nope 🙁 , but Nick Fink broke the water after 15 meters which should be disqualification…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.