Three State Records Fall at the North Carolina 4A High School State Championships

Photo Courtesy: NCHSAA (Twitter)

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website? Records for High School Are Pending Application Verification.? Click Here to Learn More

Agon is the proud sponsor of all high school coverage (recruiting, results, state championships, etc.) on For more information about Agon, visit their website

At the 2017 North Carolina 4A High School state championships the Leesville Road women kicked off the night by taking home the state championship in the 200 medley relay. The team of Brooke MorganAshley McCauleyAmanda Ray, and Grace Countie swam to a time of 1:43.61.

Taking second was Myers Park’s team of Claire RussellLiza WhitmireCharlotte HylinskiEmma Walker in 1:44.07. Third place went to Kensley MerrittLillian HiggsKatelyn Qualls, and Marissa Lassell from Hough, W.A. in 1:44.73.

The Hough, W.A. men touched first in the 200 medley relay. Alexander McMurryWill ChanColeman Manchester, and Hernan Gonzales finished in 1:33.14.

Behind them was the Athens Drive team of David WahlenDaniel BaldwinZach Brown, and Chris Silver in 1:34.22. Representing Providence, Teddy PerelliScott LyonsThomas Svane-From, and Jack Edleson took third in 1:34.50.

Sanderson freshman Kenna Haney took the win in the women’s 200 freestyle in 1:47.29, over a second faster than the next closest competitor. Hough, W.A.’s Heidi Lowe finished second in 1:48.57. Ana Pozder from Apex touched third in 1:49.22.

In the men’s 200 freestyle, Myers Park’s Jack Walker finished first in 1:39.61. South Meck teammates Weston Youngblood and Christopher Pfuhl took second and third in 1:40.67 and 1:41.17, respectively.

After breaking the state record this morning, Middle Creek’s Julia Poole took home first in the women’s 200 IM in 1:58.96. She was the only swimmer under the two minute mark. Kate Moore from Green Hope came in second in 2:00.71, and Hough, W.A.’s Higgs was third in 2:02.61.

In the men’s 200 IM, Athens Drive’s Zach Brown claimed first place with a time of 1:49.84. Will Chan of Hough, W.A. was second in 1:50.41. Third place went to South Meck’s Luke Johnson in 1:51.01.

Leesville Road junior Countie swam to a new state record in the women’s 50 freestyle. Her time of 22.60 won the event by over half of a second. Maria Baric from Broughton finished second in 23.31. Myers Park’s Charlotte Hylinski took third in 23.72.

Jack Messenger from Broughton was the state champion in the men’s 50 freestyle, with a time of 20.53. West Forsyth’s Tucker Burhans took second in 21.05. Parker Zieg, representing Grimsley, finished third in 21.26.

Charlotte Catholic’s Julia Menkhaus set a new 4A state record in the women’s 100 butterfly, touching in 53.88. Hylinski finished second in 55.36. Leesville Road’s freshman Amanda Ray was third in 55.63.

Athens Drive’s Brown took his second state championship of the night in the men’s 100 butterfly, swimming to a time of 48.78. John Frith of Myers Park took second in 49.35, just ahead of Cary’s Garret Troxler in 49.41.

Countie became the second swimmer to win twice in the women’s 100 freestyle, breaking the 50 second barrier with a time of 49.98. Hough, W.A.’s Lowe picked up a second place finish in 50.89. Samantha Medlin of Green Hope finished third in 51.37.

Broughton’s Messenger broke the state record in the men’s 100 freestyle in 44.64. Levente Bathory from Reagan swam to second in 45.56. Burhans touched third in 45.78.

Finishing two seconds ahead of the next closest competitor, Apex’s Pozder took the win in the 500 freestyle in a time of 4:48.48. 200 freestyle winner Haney finished second in 4:50.49. South Meck’s Ellie Marquardt touched third with a time of 4:55.12.

The men’s 500 freestyle went to Myers Park’s Frith in 4:30.14. Rhys Kawaguchi of Cary touched second in 4:32.43, while South Meck’s Youngblood was third in 4:34.00.

The Leesville Road women took their second relay win of the night in the 200 freestyle relay, with Grace Newton, Morgan, Abigail Toburen, and Countie in 1:34.99. Myers Park’s team of Hylinski, Janie Smith, Walker, and Whitmire was second in 1:36.40. Representing Hough, W.A., Higgs, Madelyn BrothertonHannah Hermanson, and Lowe teamed up for third in 1:36.81.

South Meck’s men finished first in the 200 freestyle relay, with Youngblood, Kellen Stillman, Johnson, and Jacob Rauch touching in 1:25.24. Grimsley’s team of Zieg, Pietro Nannucci, Davis Hoover, and Graham Hertweck took second in 1:25.79. Third place went to Millbrook’s Josh LeggeThomas WrightDavis Payne, and Hunter Pigg.

Menkhaus took another state championship in the women’s 100 backstroke with a time of 53.74. NW Guilford’s Heather Sigmon finished second in 54.52, with Moore just behind her in 54.59.

The men’s 100 backstroke went to Hough, W.A.’s McMurry in 50.16. Green Hope’s John Healy and Reagan’s Bathory finished closed behind in 50.39 and 50.52, respectively.

In the women’s 100 breaststroke, Poole claimed her second win in 1:01.98, just off her state record from this morning. Higgs finished second in 1:02.19, ahead of Leesville Road’s McCauley in 1:02.42.

Hough, W.A.’s Chan shattered his own state record in the men’s 100 breaststroke in a time of 54.47. South Meck teammates Johnson and Rauch finished second and third in 56.25 and 56.31, respectively.

The Charlotte Catholic women took home the win in the 400 freestyle relay. Menkhaus, Lindsey MahnErin McCullagh, and Olwyn Bartis touched in a time of 3:28.57. Hough, W.A.’s Lassell, Kensley Merritt, Qualls, and Lowe teamed up to finish second in 3:28.85. Green Hope’s team of Regan LawrenceHannah Kota, Moore, and Medlin was third in 3:29.23.

In the final event of the night, the South Meck men finished first in the 400 freestyle relay. Pfuhl, Stillman, Youngblood, and Johnson won in 3:06.64. Hough, W.A.’s team of Manchester, Gonzales, Karl Menkhaus, and Kenneth Lowe touched second in 3:08.41. Third place went to Providence’s Svane-From, Perelli, Lyons, and Edelson in 3:08.45.

The Hough, W.A. women won the team championship with 270 points. Leesville Road was second with 245 points, just ahead of Charlotte Catholic’s 236 points.

The men’s title went to South Mecklenburg with 279 points. Hough, W.A. came in second with 208 points. Third went to Athens Drive with 153 points.

All results available on meet mobile.