NCAA Women’s Division I Championships: California Clinches Team Title With U.S. Open, NCAA Record 400 Free Relay; Stanford Sets American Record; Teri McKeever First Female Coach to Win National Title

Swimming World's NCAA Division I Landing Page

COLLEGE STATION, Texas, March 21. CALIFORNIA's foursome of Hannah Wilson (47.91), Liv Jensen (47.53), Erica Dagg (47.98) and Dana Vollmer (46.46) iced an improbable team title – the first in program history, with a U.S. Open and NCAA record time of 3:09.88.

The outstanding final performance destroyed the previous U.S. Open and NCAA record of 3:11.05 set by California at Pac 10s last month.

Stanford's Kate Dwelley (47.50), Samantha Woodward (48.12), Elaine Breeden (48.30) and Julia Smit (47.22) raced into second with an American-record time of 3:11.14. That swim beat the 3:11.34 set by Arizona at last year's championships.

Texas completed the top three of a thrilling heat as Karlee Bispo, Hee-jin Chang, Katie Riefenstahl and Kathleen Hersey posted a third-place 3:11.69.

Arizona, which needed a win and a California finish no better than fourth heading into the final relay, placed sixth in 3:12.98.

California completed a remarkable meet with 411.5 points as the Golden Bears capitalized on the door opened by favored Arizona when the Wildcats drew a disqualification in the 200-yard medley relay on the second day of prelims.

The victory made head coach Teri McKeever the first woman to be credited with an NCAA swimming and diving team title.

Georgia proved just how deep its squad truly has become with a tally of 400.5 points as the four-time champions have moved back into title contention.

Defending champion Arizona wound up taking third with 389 points – just 22.5 points shy of first.

Stanford finished fourth with 312.5 points, while Texas' young squad placed fifth with 307 points.

The rest of the top 10 were Auburn (281.5), Florida (239.5), Texas A&M (186), USC (157) and Indiana (152).

California celebrates their win at the NCAA championships.

California wins its first NCAA championship.