Meg Bailey Breaks 400 IM Meet Record on Night Two of the 2017 Speedo Sectionals Columbus

Photo Courtesy: Aaron Doster of USA TODAY Sports

Night two of the 2017 Speedo Sectionals Columbus picked up right where last night’s action left off with even more exciting swims. Notably, Ohio State’s Meg Bailey won the women’s 400 IM in meet record-breaking time. Parker Neri was the only event winner from last night to pick up another win tonight.

The first women’s event of the evening, the 200 freestyle, went to Bobcat Swim Club’s Emily Zimcosky, who touched first in 2:03.34. She was closely followed by Upper Arlington’s Katherine Trace in 2:03.51. Kathleen Cook of Ohio State was third in 2:04.16.

Parker Neri of Upper Arlington won the men’s 200 freestyle in 1:50.61. 15 year old Carson Foster of the Mason Manta Rays was second in 1:51.37. Foster was followed by Ohio State’s Brayden Seal in 1:51.87.

15 year old Kenady Beil of the Northern KY Clippers won the women’s 100 butterfly in 1:01.40. Second place went to Cassidy Fry of the Dayton Raiders in 1:01.98. Ohio State’s Amanda McNulty took third place with a time of 1:02.26.

Ohio State swimmers dominated the men’s 100 butterfly. Henriq Painhas got to the wall first, touching in 54.80. He was followed by Gregory Nymberg who finished in 55.37. Grant House was third in 55.65.

Meg Bailey of Ohio State crushed the field in the women’s 400 IM finishing first by five seconds. Her time of 4:44.99 broke the ten year old meet record of 4:45.45. Michigan Lakeshore’s Kathryn Ackerman followed in second in 4:50.00. Paige McCormick of the Hudson Explorers placed third in 4:54.26.

The men’s 400 IM went to Michigan Lakeshore’s Kyle Maas, who touched first in 4:26.08. Maas was five seconds ahead of the next closest finisher, Nicholas Smith of the Northern KY Clippers. Smith was second in 4:31.08. Dayton Raiders’s Owen Conley finished in third place in 4:32.41.

Results can be found on Meet Mobile. 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Josh Saldoro
Josh Saldoro
6 years ago

Kyle Maas was also an event winner last night and tonight, 200 back and 400 IM

Thomas A. Small
6 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x