Matt Rose, Christine Marshall Elected to Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame

Photo Courtesy: Connor Trimble

Swimmers Matt Rose and Christine Marshall are among nine members in the Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame’s Class of 2021.

Marshall, a 2009 graduate, was a 19-time All-American as an Aggie, the fourth-highest total in program history. She helped Texas A&M win 13 Big 12 championships. Marshall was the first Aggie to represent the U.S. at the Olympics on the women’s 800 freestyle relay at the 2008 Games in Beijing, which earned a bronze medal. When she left Texas A&M, she was in the top 10 in program history in six events.

The 2007 Big 12 Conference Championship Swimmer of the Meet helped the Aggies win their first conference title. She set school records in the 200 individual medley and 200 butterfly at that meet and helped set four relay marks.

Rose earned 17 All-America honors, the most in men’s program history. A 2004 graduate from Lindsey, Ontario, Canada, he won four individual Big 12 titles in freestyle and backstroke and helped the Aggies win the 2003 200 free relay. He was named the Big 12 Championships Swimmer of the Meet in 2003.

Rose left Texas A&M with the school record in the 100 free, one of four top-10 placements in program history. He also swam legs on four school record-setting relays. He was named to the Big 12 10th anniversary team in 2006 and was the 2004 recipient of the university’s Distinguished Lettermen Award.

Rose represented Canada at the 2004 Olympic in Athens and set a national record in the 50 free. He also represented his country at the 2002 Commonwealth Games and 2003 Pan Am Games. Rose is now a physical therapist for the Canadian National Team.

Other members of the Texas A&M Athletics Hall of Fame class of 2021 include football players Randy Bullock and Dante Hall, softball player Selena Collins Patterson, basketball players Sydney Colson and Antoine Wright, tennis player Austin Krajicek and track and field’s Gabby Mayo. The class will be induced at the 43rd Burgess Banquet on Friday, Sept. 17.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.