Louisville to Host 2017 TYR Derby Pro Swim Meet; Alum Kelsi Worrell to Compete

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The University of Louisville men’s and women’s swimming program is hosting the Second Annual TYR Derby Pro Swim Meet at 4:30 p.m. on April 29 at the Ralph Wright Natatorium. The meet will serve as a fund-raiser for the Drowning Prevention Foundation as well as showcase some of the fastest swimmers in the nation.

There will be a Drowning Prevention Clinic on April 27 at 3:45 at the Natatorium and the Tyr Derby Pro Swim Banquet, Silent Auction and autograph session at 6:30 on Friday, April 28 at PNC Club at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium.

“There’s a joke that if you have one day to live you want to be at a little kids’ swim meet, because it lasts forever, but this format will drastically change your perception of swimming” said University of Louisville Head Coach Arthur Albiero.

The TYR Derby Pro Swim Meet is unlike any other in the country. Sixteen professional swimmers, eight male and eight female, will compete against each other. The field includes Olympic Gold medalists, World Champions and NCAA champions with half of the field having participated in the 2016 Rio Olympics.

“I’m really excited, we have so many amazing other athletes coming in, and we get to spend a lot of time together, and train together. So not only am I excited to race with them, but just to get to know them a little more,” says Kelsi Worrell, who won gold at the 2016 Olympics in Rio with Team USA.

“This is a field where everyone needs to come ready to race. A couple of hundredths of a second may make a difference, and you can get eliminated right then and there,” says Albiero.

“We’re kind of combining a lot of things to create a show. To create an entertainment opportunity around swimming, for sure, but much more than that,” Albiero says.

The field of sixteen will be eliminated over three rounds, with four male participants and four female participants swimming in each final. The last four swimmers will race for prize money.

The meet is part of a three-day fundraiser for the Drowning Prevention Foundation. It starts Thursday afternoon with the drowning prevention clinic hosted by the U of L Swimming and Diving team, Friday there is a banquet set at the PNC Club at Papa John’s Cardinal Stadium. The three-day event will finish with the TYR DERBY PRO Swim Meet on Saturday afternoon 4:30pm at the Ralph Wright Natatorium.

Ticket information and a list of participants is available at www.derbyproswim.com.

Below is the list of swimmers who have committed to race at the meet, with four other swimmers to be announced soon.


Kelsi Worrell: Olympic Gold Medalist, four-time NCAA Champion, four time American Record Holder, University of Louisville

Ranomi Kromowidjojo: World Record Holder, Three-time Olympic Gold Medalist, two-time Olympian, Netherlands National Team

Madison Kennedy: Two-time Fina World Champion, seven-time NCAA All American, two-time World University Games Champion, University of California

Kira Toussaint: 2016 Olympian, 12-time NCAA All American, three-time SEC Champion, University of Tennessee

Anika Apostalon: Eight-time NCAA All American, NCAA Champion, Olympic Trials Semifinalist, University of Southern California

Hellen Moffitt: 2016 FINA SC World Champion, 2016 Olympic Trial Finalist, USA National Team Member, University of North Carolina

Michelle Toro: Olympic Bronze Medalist , 2016 SC World Champion, 2015 Pan American Champion, Ohio State University


Michael Andrew: 2016 SC World Champion, set 78 National Age Group records, Youngest Professional in history

Kristian Gkolomeev: 2016 Olympian, three-time NCAA Champion, 11-time NCAA All American, University of Alabama

Joao de Lucca: two-time Olympian, three-time NCAA Champion, three-time Pan American Champion, University of Louisville

Josh Schneider: NCAA Champion, five-time NCAA All American, Fina SC World Champion, University of Cincinnati

Michael Chadwick FINA World Champion, US National Team Member, fourth fastest NCAA time in history

Press release courtesy of the University of Louisville