Lilly King, Zach Harting Pick Up Wins at the Indy May Cup

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

Lilly King, Zach Harting Pick Up Wins at the Indy May Cup

Olympians Lilly King and Zach Harting were among the big names to pick up wins Thursday at the second day of the Indy May Cup at IU Natatorium.

King won the women’s 100 breaststroke in 1:06.37. She had another Olympian in the field in Lithuanian Kotryna Teterevkova, who finished second in 1:07.85. Josie Panitz was third.

Harting dominated the field in the men’s 100 fly to set a meet record. He went 52.02, beating IU’s Finlay Brooks by 1.01 seconds. Harting’s time bested the meet mark set in 2023 by Marius Kusch at 52.53.

It was a crowded field behind brooks. Aidan Paro went 53.05. William Fentress and Mateo Miceli, the latter in winning the B final, each went 53.23.

Anna Peplowski won the women’s 200 free in 1:57.29. That’s just three tenths off her best time, set last month at the TYR Pro Swim Series in San Antonio. She set the meet record at 1:57.02 last year. Peplowski was well ahead of Ayla Spitz, the runner-up in 1:58.79. She and Katelyn Crom (third in 1:59.26) were the only ones to break two minutes.

Blake Pieroni won a Hoosier duel of generations to beat Rafael Miroslaw in the men’s 200 free. Pieroni went 1:47.02, besting Miroslaw by .02. Both were well under Miroslaw’s meet record of 1:47.89 from last year. Aaron Shackell also bested that in going 1:47.74.

Denis Loktev was fourth in 1:48.61. Chris Guiliano won the B final in 1:48.75.

Josh Matheny went 1:00.93 to secure the men’s 100 breast. That’s faster than the 1:01.04 that Cody Miller used to win last year. Charlie Swanson was third in 1:01.00, followed by the veteran tandem of Tommy Cope (1:01.12) and Miller (1:01.51). Seven swimmers broke 1:02.

Alex Shackell won the women’s 100 fly in 57.55, more than 1.4 seconds over fellow teen Charlotte Crush. Shackell was 57.22 in prelims, which is a best time. (She had been 57.58 at Speedo Sectionals.)

Gabi Albiero was third in 59.31, while Kat Zenick and Ella Welch also broke a minute.

Hannah Bellard downed a Makenzie Looze meet mark from 2022 in winning the 400 individual medley in 4:47.61. Ellie Clarke was second in 4:49.24. Kayla Han had been 4:49.39 in prelims before added nearly seven tenths at night.

Thomas Bried won the men’s 400 IM in 4:21.05. Jackson Millard was second in 4:21.63.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x