Leo Macalister Sweeps Backstroke Events At Day Two Of Australia State Team Champs

Australian Fans Pan Pacifics
Photo Courtesy: Delly Carr

The second day of the 2016 Australia State Team Short Course Championships featured two busy sessions as athletes participated in distances from 50-meters to 1500-meters.

Leo Macalister of New South Wales swept the boys 16-17 backstroke events winning the 50, 100, and 200 between the two sessions. Macalister got his winning streak started in the 50-meter back (25.14) before moving on to the 100-meter back (54.01) and finishing the day with a win in the 200-meter back (1:57.67).

Oliver Nash, representing the state of Victoria, dashed ahead of the competition in finals of the boys 14-15 100-meter fly with a final time of 54.33.

New South Wales’ Alex Quach claimed multiple event wins throughout the course of the first session. Quach got off to a strong start with a win in the boys 14-15 50-meter back, stopping the clock at a 25.60 to be the only athlete under the 26-second mark. The 15-year-old then claimed victory in the 100-meter back (55.23) to end the morning session.

Quach carried his winning ways into the afternoon session with a dynamic win in the 100-meter freestyle (51.37).

Lydia Murray of Queensland delivered the top time in two events, earning gold in the girls 13-14 100-meter free (56.36) and the 100-meter fly (1:00.06). The latter was a new record for the meet.

Victoria’s Sophie Caldwell earned gold in multiple events throughout the second day of competition. Taking the girls 15-16 800-meter freestyle (8:40.31) in the morning session, before returning in the afternoon for a win in the 400-meter IM (4:44.23).

Fellow Victoria representative, Daniel Cave, broke the meet record in the boys 16-17 200-meter breaststroke with a sizzling 2:10.45. Lowering Matthew Wilson’s 2015 record of 2:11.23.

Fellow New South Wales athlete, Finn O’Connor, delivered the top times in the boys 15-16 200-meter breaststroke (2:16.23) and 100-meter breaststroke (1:04.01).

Other Event Winners:

  • Gabrielle Peiniger, Victoria: girls 13-14 50-meter back (28.31), 100-meter back (1:02.00)
  • Imogen Watson, Queensland: girls 15-16 50-meter back (27.50)
  • Natasha Ramsden, New South Wales: girls 15-16 100-meter freestyle (54.80)
  • Matthew Temple, Victoria: boys 16-17 100-meter fly (53.61)
  • Isabel Lampre, Queensland: girls 15-16 200-meter IM (2:13.27), 100-meter fly (1:00.87)
  • David Schlicht, Victoria: boys 16-17 200-meter IM (1:59.14), 200-meter fly (1:58.02)
  • Charlie Brown, New South Wales: girls 13-14 200-meter back (2:16.56)
  • Sienna McDonald, Queensland: girls 15-16 200-meter back (2:11.34)
  • Brear Crawford, NZL: girls 13-14 200-meter breaststroke (2:34.68)
  • Keila Trewavsi, Victoria: girls 15-16 200-meter breaststroke (2:30.86)
  • Nick Jennens, New South Wales: boys 14-15 200-meter fly (2:02.99)
  • Mia Rolfe, New South Wales: girls 15-16 100-meter back (1:00.72)
  • Lani Pallister, Queensland: girls 13-14 800-meter freestyle (8:40.04)
  • Carter Swift, Victoria: boys 16-17 100-meter freestyle (49.06)
  • Jacinta Essam, New South Wales: girls 13-14 400-meter IM (4:49.27)
  • Se-bom Lee, New South Wales: boys 14-15 1500-meter freestyle (15:47.18)
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
6 years ago

Congratulations Finn Oconnor great swim