Kanako Watanabe Turns In Sizzler in 200 Breast at 2015 Japanese Intercollegiate Championships

Photo Courtesy: R-Sport / MIA Rossiya Segodnya

Kanako Watanabe blasted the women’s 200-meter breaststroke finale at the 2015 Japanese Intercollegiate Championships.

Watanabe won in a time of 2:22.41.  She’s been much faster with a second-ranked 2:20.90 from the Japanese National Championships, but she still managed to win by more than two seconds tonight.

Daiya Seto, the top-ranked swimmer in the world in the men’s 400-meter IM with a 4:08.50 from Worlds, took the title tonight in 4:12.10.

Meanwhile, Takeharu Fujimori picked up second-place honors in 4:13.31.

Kazuki Kohinata cleared his season best with a win in the men’s 200-meter breaststroke.

Kohinata, currently tied with Cody Miller for 11th in the world with a 2:09.08 from the World University Games, broke that tie with a winning 2:09.03.

Hayabusa Watanabe took second in 2:10.55 with Ippei Watanabe snaring third in 2:10.73.

Takeshi Kawamoto picked up the men’s 100-meter back in a time of 54.58, while Asa Takezako snared the women’s 100-meter back title in 1:00.68

Katsumi Nakamura lowered the meet record in the men’s 100-meter free with a time of 48.55.  That clipped the previous time of 48.56, and just missed his Japanese record of 48.41.

Miki Uchida captured the women’s 100-meter free crown in 54.47 with Yui Yamane earning silver in 54.97.

Miyu Otsuka turned in a 4:39.43 to win the women’s 400-meter IM.  Akira Hirai pocketed the men’s 1500-meter free crown in 15:11.72. Asami Chida also won the women’s 800-meter free in 8:35.80.

2015 Japanese Intercollegiate Championships: Day 3 – Results

Share and Tweet This Story

1 comment

Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial