Ji Xinjie, Yu Jingyao Cruise in Finals at Chinese National Swimming Championships

Yu Jingyao won the 100 breast final in Anshan City. Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports

The 2019 Chinese National Swimming Championships continued on Saturday in Anshan City with four finals as the meet is simulating the Olympic schedule for next summer. To continue with the Olympic simulation, the finals are being held in the morning to get the athletes prepped for Tokyo. But some of China’s best are not in attendance with the likes of Sun Yang, Xu Jiayu and Yan Zibei sitting out the meet.

Men’s 200 Free

Ji Xinjie took advantage of no Sun Yang in the field as he won the 200 free final with a 1:47.12. Sun is not competing at the championships since he has a hearing with the Court of Arbitration for Sport some time in October. Ji won the 400 free earlier in the week and was slightly off his 1:45.8 from the World Championships where he was tenth and didn’t make the final. Ji won comfortably ahead of Hong Jinquan (1:49.09) and Zheng Rui (1:49.63).

Women’s 100 Back

Wang Xueer won the 100 back final with a 1:00.12 to just miss the minute barrier and set a new season best. Wang is now ranked third in China this year behind Fu Yuanhui and Chen Jie. Chen was second in the final here with a 1:00.83 while 50 back world record holder Liu Xiang (1:01.06) was third.

Men’s 100 Back

Li Guangyuan won the 100 back final without World Champion Xu Jiayu, who won the 100 back World titles in 2017 and 2019. Li won tonight at the Chinese National Swimming Championships with a 54.89 as he won ahead of Wang Yutian (55.50) and Wang Guanbin (55.75). Li did not make the semi finals at the World Championships in this event as he was a 54.29 to get 22nd in Gwangju.

Women’s 100 Breast

Yu Jingyao beat the field in the 100 breast final with a 1:08.60 as she was well off her season best of 1:06.56 from the World Championships where she was fifth in the final. Yu won ahead of Tang Qianting (1:09.08) and Yang Chang (1:09.09).

Semi Finals Wrap

Wang Jianjiahe is leading the women’s 200 free final for tomorrow with a 1:59.39 and Shen Jiahao (2:00.40) is leading the men’s 200 fly field while Yu Yiting (2:15.34) is leading the women’s 200 IM field.