Germany Announces 19-Strong Team For World Championships In Fukuoka

Florian Wellbrock
Florian Wellbrock: Photo Courtesy: Andrea Staccioli / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

Germany Announces 19-Strong Team For World Championships In Fukuoka

Germany has announced a 19-strong squad for the World Championships in July with Florian Wellbrock looking to add to his four global titles.

Wellbrock – who has won seven medals in the pool and open water across two editions – moved to fourth all-time in the 1500 free at the Berlin Open last week with a time of 14:34.89.

He’ll be joined by Angelina Kohler, fresh from a national 100 fly record of 57.22, and Ole Braunschweig, who clocked a German 50 back standard of 24.57 in Berlin.

Also on the Germany team for Fukuoka is Lukas Martens – silver medallist in the 400 free at last year’s worlds in Budapest  – who enjoyed a fine meet in Berlin with first in the 400 (3:43.86) and 800 (7:42.14) after finishing second in the 15 behind Wellbrock in 14:40.85.

The squad comprises 11 men and eight women, almost double that in Budapest where 10 pool swimmers were selected.

Wellbrock won open water golds in the 5k and team events in the Hungarian capital as well as 800 silver and bronzes in the 1500 and 10k.

It elevated him alongside Michael Gross who also won five medals at a single World Championships in 1982.

He said through the German Swimming Federation:

“I’m extremely happy with my performance so far this year and we now have a really good team together.”

Germany coach Bernd Berkhahn added:

“In the course of the season so far, the nominees and their coaches have done a good job, otherwise the achievements would not have been possible.

“It is now important to prepare the World Championships in Japan just as meticulously in order to place well in the relays as well as top placings in the individual races.”

Germany team for the World Championships in Fukuoka:


Anna Elendt (SG Frankfurt), Isabel Gose (SC Magdeburg), Angelina Köhler, Lisa-Marie Finger, Leonie Kullmann, Nele Schulze (all SG Neukölln Berlin), Nina Holt (SG Mönchengladbach), Laura Riedemann (SV Halle)


Luca Nik Armbruster, Ole Braunschweig (both SG Neukölln Berlin), Eric Friese (Potsdamer SV), Oliver Klemet, Lucas Matzerath (both SG Frankfurt), Lukas Märtens, Florian Wellbrock (both SC Magdeburg), Rafael Miroslaw (SG HT16 Hamburg ), Josha Salchow (SV Nikar Heidelberg), Timo Sorgius (SSG Leipzig), Peter Varjasi (TB 1888 Erlangen)