Gabrielle Kopenski Opens Speedo Sectionals College Station With Dominating 1000

gabrielle-kopenski-winter-junior-nationals-2014 (2)
Photo Courtesy: Melissa Lundie

Speedo Sectional Series is proudly sponsored by Speedo. Visit for more information on our sponsor.

The 2017 Speedo Sectionals series got started tonight in College Station, Texas with timed finals of the 1000 freestyle and the 800 freestyle relay.

Four women finished under ten minutes tonight in the 1000. Texas Ford Aquatics put two athletes on the podium. Gabrielle Kopenski was dominant, stopping the clock in 9:38.26. Her 15 year old teammate finished third in 9:52.40. Magnolia Aquatic Club’s Kaitlynn Sims posted a 9:49.15 for second. North Texas Nadadores’ Audrey McMurry was also under ten minutes in 9:58.46.

Teammates also took gold and bronze in the men’s event. Colter Carman of North Texas stopped the clock in 9:14.74 to win. His fellow 18 year old William Karau finished third in 9:19.17, just behind Lost Creek Aquatics’ Clark Wakeland with a 9:19.09.

Palo Alto Stanford Aquatics and Texas Ford Aquatics made it a battle in the women’s 800 freestyle relay. Zoe Lusk opened things up for PASA in a 1:49.96, over a second behind TFA’s Camryn Toney in 1:48.60.

Lusk was followed by Danielle CarterVicky Wong, and Isabelle Henig (splits were unavailable). The team posted a winning 7:30.35.

Abigail Koczo (1:53.13), Madison Coughlen (1:49.68), and Gabriella Kopenski (1:49.30) brought it home for TFA as the team touched second in 7:20.71.

In third was Magnolia Aquatic Club’s Emily Reese (1:50.59), Monica Gumina (1:49.73), Shea Gregson, and Caitlin Clements (1:50.91) with a 7:23.03.

North Texas Nadadores and Nitro Swimming brought things down to the wire in the men’s relay. After a quick lead off from Jack LeVant (1:37.01), the team of David Hallaron (1:41.89), William Karau (1:41.18), and Colter Carman (1:41.09) held off Nitro. NTN posted a 6:41.17. Six tenths behind Isaac Gwin (1:39.12), Nicholas Shomper (1:41.11), Ethan Gogulski (1:42.16), and Luke Gwin (1:39.32) touched in 6:41.71.

Katy Aquatic Team for Youth’s Kaloyan Bratanov (1:42.44), Reed McKinney (1:39.63), William Coakley (1:42.46), and Glen Cowand (1:38.50) finished third in 6:43.03.

Full results available on Meet Mobile: 2017 Speedo Sectionals Championship Series.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x