European & Commonwealth Medallists Among British Team Of 18 Set For LEN U23 European Championships

Keanna MacInnes: Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

European And Commonwealth Medallists Among British Team Of 18 Set For LEN U23 European Championships

British Swimming has announced a team of 18 including European and Commonwealth medallists for the inaugural LEN U23 European Championships in Dublin.

The meet will be held in the Irish capital from 11-13 August less than a fortnight after the conclusion of the pool programme at the World Championships which end on 30 July.

Keanna MacInnes, Jack McMillan who represented Ireland at the Tokyo Olympics – and Greg Butler are on the British team for Fukuoka before heading to the National Aquatic Centre where they’ll join around 600 athletes from over 40 nations for the first staging of the meet.

Ed Mildred – who won five relay medals across the 2022 European Championships and Commonwealth Games – and Evan Jones, winner of two relay bronzes with Team Scotland in Birmingham, feature.

Eva Okaro, who at 14 won 50 free bronze and relay silver and bronze at the 2021 European Junior Championships, is also selected to the team, weeks after finishing third in the 50 free at the British Championships and joint fourth in the 50 fly in an age-group record of 26.97.

She’s joined by Leah Scholassan, winner of the 200IM at the 2022 European juniors.

British Swimming Head of Performance Development Alan Lynn said:

“It is an exciting prospect to have put together a team that will compete at a completely new event – and one that will offer racing against world-class competitors in a big arena environment.

“The 18 athletes on this team have a blend of senior and junior experience, with some preparing for their first time in a GB cap and others heading to the meet off the back of the senior World Championships in Fukuoka.

“We know that each and every one of them can thrive in this big-meet environment and can also use the opportunity to progress their performances on the international stage, whether that is with the Olympic year of 2024 in mind or future international competitions beyond that.”

British Team

Jonathon Adam, Bath Performance Centre

Elizabeth Booker, Loughborough Performance Centre

Charlie Brown, Loughborough Performance Centre

Greg Butler, Loughborough Performance Centre

Alexander Cohoon, Loughborough University

Gillian Kay Davey, Loughborough University

Evelyn Davis, University of Stirling

Lewis Fraser, Swim Wales High Performance Centre

Archie Goodburn, Edinburgh University

Lucy Grieve, University of Stirling

Charlie Hutchison, Loughborough Performance Centre

Evan Jones, University of Stirling

Fleur Lewis, Loughborough University

Keanna MacInnes, University of Stirling

Jack McMillan, University of Stirling

Ed Mildred, Bath Performance Centre

Eva Okaro, Sevenoaks

Leah Schlosshan, City of Leeds


Adam Baker (Head Coach), Swim Wales High Performance Centre

Bradley Hay, University of Stirling

Mike Taylor, City of Sheffield

Matt Trodden, Edinburgh University

Scott Goadby, Loughborough Performance Centre

Calum Jarvis, Bath Performance Centre


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x