Elizabeth Beisel, Connor Jaeger Win 500 Free at Arena Grand Prix in Minnesota (Race Videos)

Photo Courtesy: Griffin Scott

Arena Grand Prix – Minneapolis editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Arena USA. Visit ArenaUSA.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page.

MINNESOTA – Elizabeth Beisel and Connor Jaeger won the 500 free at the Arena Grand Prix in Minnesota. Here are the race videos courtesy of USA Swimming.

Women’s 500 free

Gator’s Elizabeth Beisel, definitely looking to challenge the overall standings leaderboard this year as a full-time pro, picked up her fourth medal of the meet so far.

She clocked a 4:37.00 to win the finale, her second best ever. Her lifetime best is a sizzling 4:34.54 at the 2012 Ohio State Invitational, but her second best had been a 4:37.74 at the 2011 Southeastern Conference Championships.

While last year’s Grand Prix had an event entry cap, which hampered people from going all out in a Katinka Hosszu-like FINA World Cup manner, this year’s edition allows some leeway for National Team and Junior National Team members. Also, international swimmers ranked in the top 50 in the world in an event, may enter any number of events that they wish.

This means you are going to see more loaded event schedules from people like Beisel who can handle it.

Minnesota’s Brooke Zeiger raced her way to second in 4:39.50 with Badger’s Lindsay Vrooman taking third in 4:40.13.

Bulldogs’ Shannon Vreeland (4:40.99), Minnesota’s Kiera Janzen (4:42.93), NBAC’s Becca Mann (4:42.93), Minnesota’s Sam Harding (4:46.44) and Minnesota’s Brooke Lorentzen (4:46.48) also turned in championship heat times.

Frisco’s Gabrielle Kopenski topped the B final with a 4:42.61, while Minnesota’s Jessica Plant took second in 4:44.65. Santa Clara’s Sandra Soe snared third in 4:47.08.

Taylor Ault (4:47.28), Madeline Hoch (4:49.36), Ruby Martin (4:49.40), Anina Lund (4:54.40) and Emily Meckstroth (4:55.02) placed fourth through eighth.

A final

B final

C final 

D final

Men’s 500 free

Club Wolverine’s Connor Jaeger smoked the middle distance event with a time of 4:15.05, winning by more than three seconds as he had time to take off his cap and goggles to watch the rest of the race finish.

SwimMAC’s Tyler Clary, definitely more of an IMer in terms of distance events, still did what he wanted to do and that was medal with a second-place 4:18.45. That’s his fourth medal of the meet as he has built a big lead over Miguel Ortiz in the points race, 14-9.

NBAC’s Frank Dyer claimed third-place honors in 4:18.83 in the finale.

Wisconsin’s Michael Weiss (4:12.04), Mission Viejo’s Nick Norman (4:22.33), Minnesota’s CJ Smith (4:24.07), Badger’s Ryan Feeley (4:24.10) and Jeremy Bagshaw (4:24.91) also competed in the A final.

Santa Clara’s Aidan Burns took the B final in 4:23.04, while Michael Nunan claimed second in 4:24.25.

Ben Bravence (4:26.13), Bowen Anderson (4:28.78), Eric Ress (4:29.66), John Thomas Larson (4:29.72), Nathan Hopkins (4:29.96) and Logan Redondo (4:30.21) finished third through eighth in the consolation.

A final

B final

C final

D final

Share and Tweet This Story
Wordpress Social Share Plugin powered by Ultimatelysocial