Eindhoven Swim Cup: Ranomi Kromowidjojo Sets Another Textile Best; Mirjam de Koning-Peper Breaks Paralympic World Record – Race Footage Included

EINDHOVEN, The Netherlands, April 15. A textile best and a Paralympic world record fell on the final day of what proved to be an outstanding 2012 edition of the Eindhoven Swim Cup.

Ranomi Kromowidjojo cleared the textile best in the women's 50 free with a sterling time of 24.10. The previous textile best had been shared by Inge de Bruijn and Fran Halsall with matching 24.13s. De Bruijn set her previous world record at the 2000 Sydney Olympics, while Halsall checked in with her time at the British Trials last month. With the swim, Kromowidjojo moved up to seventh in the all time rankings. It was her second textile best of the weekend, after downing the 100 free time earlier in the meet.

Watch the race, courtesy of zwemsite.nl:

Marleen Veldhuis raced to second in 24.32, just besting her third-ranked season best of 24.33 from yesterday. Inge Dekker (24.64) and Hinkelien Schreuder (25.29) finished third and fourth in the splash-and-dash.

In multi-class finals, Mirjam de Koning-Peper took the women's 50 free S6 division in 34.92, clipping her world record in the process. She previously held the record with a 34.94 from last year in Berlin.

Bruno Fratus moved to fourth in the world rankings in the men's 50 free with a scorching 21.87. Only James Magnussen (21.74), Cesar Cielo (21.85) and Florent Manaudou (21.86) have been faster. Stefan Nystrand placed second in 22.08 for 14th in the world rankings, while Sergey Fesikov picked up third in 22.40.

Nick Driebergen won the men's 200 back title in 1:57.96, jumping to 14th in the world rankings on the way. Lukas Rauftin placed a distant second in 2:01.62, while Sander Helderweirt took third in 2:02.45.

Francesco Pavone captured the men's 200 fly in 1:57.06 for 20th in the world rankings. Joeri Verlinden (1:59.81) and Simon Sjodin (2:01.11) rounded out the top three.

Sharon van Rouwendaal touched in 2:10.14 to win the women's 200 back crown. That effort pushed her to 21st in the world rankings. Annemarie Worst placed second in 2:12.82, while Kira Toussaint finished third in 2:13.02.

Lennart Stekelenburg topped the men's 100 breast in 1:01.04, while Joao Luis Gomez Jr. placed second in 1:01.62. Raphael Rodrigues finished third in 1:02.23. Jennie Johansson clipped Moniek Nijhuis, 1:08.29 to 1:08.50, for the women's 100 breast title. Joline Hostman finished third in 1:09.21.

Martina Granstrom claimed the women's 200 fly title in 2:09.09. Ida Marko-Varga (2:12.17) and Katarina Listopadova (2:15.47) finished second and third.

Julia Hassler won the women's 1500 free in 16:42.58, while Judith Stap took second in 17:01.04. Camilla Hattersley wound up third in 17:07.55. Job Kienhuis claimed the men's 1500 free in 15:11.77. Richard Nagy (15:36.72) and Stephen Milne (15:42.63) rounded out the top three.

In multi-class finals, Marc Evers won the men's 100 breast SB14 division title with a 1:11.90. Maurice Deelen posted a men's 100 breast SB8 win in 1:12.67, while Michel Tielbeke took the men's 100 breast SB12 division title in 1:14.85. Magda Toeters took home the women's 100 breast SB14 title in 1:22.13, while Lisa den Braber clocked a 1:38.41 for the women's 100 breast SB7 victory.

Michel Tielbeke won the men's 50 free S12 division in 26.83, while Maurice Deelen matched him with a 26.83 in the S8 division, just half-a-second off the world record of 26.45 set by China's Wang Xiaofu at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics. Olivier Victor van de Voort posted a 27.53 to win the men's 50 free S10 division, while Thijs van den End clocked a 29.09 for the men's 50 free S9 division win.

Chantal Molenkamp won the women's 50 free S10 division in 29.35, while Lisette Teunissen topped the women's 50 free S4 division in 46.59.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x