Duke’s Nick McCrory Wins Platform; Claims First Career Sweep of Platform Ever; Cal Clinches Team Title

Nick McCrory wins the platform diving event.

NCAA Championship editorial coverage is proudly sponsored by Competitor Swim. Visit CompetitorSwim.com for more information on our sponsor. For all the latest coverage, check out our event coverage page. Also, make sure to check out our Facebook photo gallery for the latest images from the meet in Austin.

AUSTIN, Texas, March 29. DUKE’s Nick McCrory became the first male diver to ever accomplish a career sweep of the platform diving event at the NCAA Division I Men’s Championships.

McCrory tallied 454.85 points after posting a 480.35 this morning as he won his fourth title in the event. He won in 2010, 2011, 2013 and 2014, having taken a redshirt year in 2012 to focus on the London Olympics. McCrory had to overcome a bit of an injury that caused him to scratch out of the three-meter mid-competition yesterday.

“It had been an interesting contest from the start but that last dive is one of my favorites,” McCrory said.  “I’ve been doing it for like six years now and I’m really comfortable with it. But going into it, I was up there doing the math in my head of what I needed to score to win. To be honest I didn’t think I got it when I hit the water. I was surprised by the scoreboard. I saw my dive and I guess it was better than I thought. I’m just really proud for my school. They’ve done so much to support me and get me here and keep me going. I’m really happy to be representing Duke.”

Texas’s Michael Hixon, who swept the springboard events, took seventh with 366.35 points, assuring California of the team title regardless of a relay disqualification as Cal took a 434.5 to 387.5 lead against the Longhorns.

Arizona’s Rafael Quintero (452.40), Hawaii (446.10), Missouri’s David Bonuchi (443.35), Virgniia Tech’s Ryan Hawkins (440.85), Stanford’s Kristian Ipsen (384.80) and Virginia Tech’s TJ Shinholser also competed in the finale.

Auburn’s John Santeiu dominated the consolation finale earlier this afternoon with 437.70 points. Virginia’s JB Kolod took second with 389.00 points, while Kentucky’s Greg Ferrucci placed third with 388.10 points.

Texas’ Mark Anderson (380.15), Auburn’s Fraser McKean (358.55), Arizona’s Dominic Ricotta (358.30), Tennessee’s Mauricio Robles Rodriguez (351.60) and Purdue’s Nathan Cox (333.60) also scored team points in the consolation finale.

Team Standings
1. California 434.5
2. Texas 387.5
3. Florida 363
4. Michigan 302
5. Georgia 253
6. Auburn 190
7. Arizona 188.5
8. USC 156
9. Stanford 153
10. Indiana 141

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x