Dmitrii Kokarev Sets 1 of 6 World Records at Day 4 of IPC European Championships

Sep 1, 2012; London, United Kingdom; Dmitrii Kokarev (RUS) swims in the men's 200m freestyle-S2 during the London 2012 Paralympic Games at Aquatics Centre. Mandatory Credit: Andrew Fielding-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Courtesy: Andrew Fielding-USA TODAY Sports

Six world records fell in the fourth day of action at the 2016 IPC European Championships.

Record Setting Events

Maja Reichard touched in 30.87 to set a new women’s S11 50 freestyle world record, just under the 30.94, set in 2012.

Russia’s Dmitrii Kokarev took over two seconds off the S2 men’s 100 backstroke world record, stopping the clock in 2:02.25.

Hennadii Boiko of Ukraine improved his own S1 100 backstroke world record by over four seconds, finishing in 2:23.75.

Anna Stetsenko stopped the clock at 58.05 to set a new S13 100 freestyle world record.

Pin Xiu Yip set the S2 world record in the 100 backstroke with a 2:09.79, while Ingrid Thunem set a new world mark for the S1 division, finishing in 2:25.71.

Hendri Herbst of South Africa set a new African record of 26.96 in the men’s S11 50 freestyle.

Other events

Denis Tarasov of Russia won the men’s S8 100 butterfly with a time of 1:01.76 while Great Britian’s Stephanie Slater won the women’s edition of the event in a 1:09.67.

In the men’s SM9 200 IM, Italian Federico Morlacchi was first to the wall in 2:18.39, while Sarai Gascon, from Spain, stopped the clock in 2:36.31 to win gold for the women.

Denys Dubrov of Ukraine won the men’s S10 100 butterfly, finishing in 56.84. Fellow countryman Yevheniy Bohodayko also took home gold in the SB6 100 meter breaststroke.

The Ukranian women were also quite successful this evening. Viktoriia Savtsova won the SB5 100 breaststroke in 1:38.41. In the SB7 event, Oksana Khrul touched first in 1:37.62.

Russian swimmer Nina Ryabova claimed the S10 100 butterfly title with her 1:07.48. Her teammate Ilurii Luchkin also topped the podium in the men’s SB5 100 breaststroke.

The women’s SB6 100 breaststroke crown went to Charlotte Henshaw in 1:37.55. In the men’s SB4 100 breaststroke, Columbian Moises Fuentes Garcia was the top finisher in 1:36.83, but gold went to the top European, Ricardo Ten of Spain in 1:39.81.

Ihar Boki of Belarus won the S13 men’s 100 freestyle in a time of 50.87. Zulfiya Gabidullina won the S3 women’s 100 freestyle final in 1:39.61.

Scott Quinn touched in 1:07.29 to win the SB14 men’s 100 breaststroke. Sarah Louise Rung of Norway won the SB4 women’s 100 breaststroke in 1:44.49. Spain’s Michelle Alonoso Morales won the SB14 classification’s 100 breaststroke in 1:13.46. In the SB7 men’s 100 breaststroke, Carlos Serrano Zarate was the top finisher by over five seconds, touching in 1:16.19.