Derek Hren Victory Highlights Nike Cup Finals

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

It a good day for men’s breaststrokers at the Nike Cup in North Carolina.

In the men’s 100-yard breaststroke, there were two swims under the 53 second barrier. Derek Hren won the event for North Carolina State, posting a time of 52.94. Oddly enough, Duke’s Peter Kropp posted a the fastest time of the day in preliminaries. Kropp went a 52.40, but had to settle for second with a time of 53.26 in finals.

The top seven finishers in the men’s 100-yard breaststroke all earned ‘B’ time standards.

The day started off well for Duke. The Blue Devils took home titles in both the men’s and women’s 200-yard medley relay. The women posted a time of 1:38.70 and the men finished in 1:52.62.

The 400-yard individual medley was the longest distance event of the day. For the women, North Carolina’s Emma Nunn brought home the victory in a time of 4:17.46. Yale’s Kei Hyogo won the men’s title, touching in at 3:50.72.

Two Duke swimmers tied for the win in the women’s 100-yard butterfly event. Leah Goldman and Maddie Rusch both finished with a time of 53.21. The men’s 100-yard butterfly race was not nearly as close. North Carolina’s Sam Lewis won the race by nearly a half second.

Bella Hindley claimed Yale’s second victory of the day, winning the 200-yard freestyle in a time of 1:46.62. Scott Bole made the 200-yard freestyle a sweep for the Yale Bulldogs, claiming the men’s event with a time of 1:37.10.

North Carolina State’s Kayla Brumbaum earned a dominating win in the women’s 100-yard breaststroke. Brumbaum won the event by over two seconds, clocking in at 1:00.14.

Alexia Zevnik of North Carolina State led a strong field of 100-yard backstrokers. Zevnik won the women’s event with a time of 51.65. She was one of 11 swimmers to earn a ‘B’ time standard in the event. Andreas Scheillerup led a 1-2 North Carolina State finish in the men’s 100-yard backstroke. Scheillerup beat teammate Hennessey Stuart with a time of 46.26.

In the 800-yard freestyle relay, Yale took home the women’s title with a time of 7:14.91. On the men’s side, the Bulldogs also won with a time of 6:34.13.