Daniel Dias Lowers Own World Record at IPC European Champs Day 5

Photo Courtesy: Luc Percival

On the fifth day of swimming in London, three world and three European records fell.

Record setting events

Denys Dubrov of Ukraine touched in 2:08.71 in the SM10 men’s 200 IM, lowering the world record from the 2012 Olympic Games. This morning fellow Ukranian Viktoriia Savtsova set the S6 50 freestyle world record with her 33.78. Tonight she lowered that with a 32.98.

In the next event, another world mark came tumbling down. Daniel Dias of Brazil finished the S5 men’s 50 backstroke in 34.95, just .04 faster than his own world record set in London in 2012.

Russia’s Roman Zhdanov clocked a 2:29.89 in the men’s SM4 150 IM. That time was nearly five seconds better than the European record set in 2002.

Sarai Gascon set another European record, this time in the S9 women’s 100 freestyle, finishing in 1:02.81. The old record stood at 1:03.07 from 2010.

The Ukranian squad in the mixed 200 freestyle 20 point relay also set a European record. Yelyzaveta Mereshko, Oleksii Kabyshev, Dmytro Vynohradets, and Savtsova combined for a 2:30.26.

Other events

Mariia Lafina took gold in the SM4 women’s 150 IM with a 2:57.69. Teammate Vynohradets won the 150 IM for the SM3 men in 2:59.61.

Andrei Gladkov won the S7 men’s 400 freestyle with a 4:52.52, while the title in the women’s event went to Susannah Rodgers with her 5:27.16.

Nine Ryabova was first to the wall in the SM10 women’s 200 IM, stopping the clock in 2:30.94.

Ievgen Panibratets topped the podium in the S2 men’s 50 freestyle with a 59.71. Ingrid Thunem grabbed gold with a 54.31 in the women’s event.

Nelson Crispin was first to the wall in 29.50 in the S6 men’s 50 freestyle. The S5 women’s 50 backstroke crown went to Teresa Perales in 43.50.

The S13 men’s 400 freestyle title went to Ihar Boki in 3:56.97, while the women’s gold wen to Ana Stetsenko in 4:27.34.

Israel Oliver grabbed victory in the SM11 men’s 200 Im with his 2:24.66. Liesette Bruinsma was the women’s champion in 2:54.17.

In a 1:06.56 Oliver Hynd won the S8 men’s 100 backstroke. Mariia Pavlova took the women’s gold in 1:20.42.

Federico Morlacchi stopped the clock in 56.99 to earn the title in the S9 men’s 100 freestyle.