Daiya Seto Clocks 2nd-Ranked 200 Fly to Kick Off Japan Open

Photo Courtesy: Delly Carr

Daiya Seto had the top time of the first night of action at the 2016 Japan Open.

Seto matched his second-ranked men’s 200-meter fly time with a 1:54.14 for the win tonight.  Masato Sakai placed second in 1:54.30, just off his third-ranked 1:54.21. Yusuke Miyoshi snared third overall in 1:57.54.

Cameron McEvoy, swimming exhibition as an international swimmer, posted the top time in the men’s 200-meter free with a 1:46.41.  That’s off his fourth-ranked season best of 1:45.63 from Australian Nationals.  Kosuke Hagino, ranked third in the world with a 1:45.50, took the overall title in 1:46.43 – off McEvoy’s time.

Naito Ehara finished second in 1:46.96 with Yuki Kobori placing third in 1:48.21.  Australia’s Daniel Smith clocked an exhibition 1:47.61.

Natsumi Hoshi won the women’s 200-meter fly in a time of 2:08.55, well off her third-ranked season best of 2:06.32 from Japanese Nationals.

Suzuka Hasegawa hit the wall second in 2:08.62 with Sakiko Shimizu earning third overall in 2:10.32.

Ryosuke Irie turned in a 53.43 to win the men’s 100-meter back, off his ninth-ranked best of 53.26 from Japanese Nationals.  Australia’s Josh Beaver exhibitioned a 54.08, while Masaki Kaneko (54.05) and Junya Koga (54.83) took second and third.

Chihiro Igarashi won the women’s 200-meter free in 1:57.97, while Rikako Ikee took second in 1:58.80.  Tomomi Aoki finished third in 1:59.49.  Swimming exhibition as an international swimmer, Australia’s Leah Neale put up a 1:58.60.

Swimming exhibition, Hong Kong’s Stephanie Au clocked the top women’s 100-meter back time with a 1:00.70.  Natsumi Sakai claimed the overall title in a time of 1:00.74, while Emi Moronuki (1:01.24) and Miki Takahashi (1:01.38) rounded out the top four.  Australia’s Belinda Hocking exhibitioned a 1:00.90 as well.

Kanako Watanabe clocked a 1:06.75 to win the women’s 100-meter breast.  Rie Kaneto took second in 1:07.66 with Runa Imai snaring third in 1:07.97.  Australia’s Taylor McKeown exhibitioned a 1:07.48.

Yasuhiro Koseki picked up the men’s 100-meter breast title in a time of 59.89.  Ippei Watanabe turned in a second-place effort of 1:00.14, while Kazuki Kohinata rounded out the top three in 1:00.74.