Caeleb Dressel Among Winners at Final Day of All-Florida Invite

Photo Courtesy: Taylor Brien

The University of Florida showed their dominance in the distance freestyle events during the final night of the All-Florida Invite. Jessica Thielmann (16:47.09) and Autumn Finke (16:47.61) posted a 1-2 in the women’s 1650-yard freestyle, while the Florida men dominated the top three on the men’s side. Mitch D’Arrigo (15:31.83), Ben Lawless (15:35.44), and Arthur Frayler (15:35.58) kept it close finishing only 3.75 seconds apart.

Florida’s dominance continued throughout the rest of the meet with individuals winning six of the eight remaining individual events.

Ashlee Linn (1:57.39), Sydney Sell (1:59.49), and Georgia-Mae Hohman (1:59.95) of Florida swept the top three spots in the women’s 200-meter back, while Jack Blyzinskyj (1:45.81) and Austin Manganiello (1:48.91) were first and third on the men’s side. Connor Kalisz of Florida State took second with a time of 1:46.64.

Caeleb Dressel, the reigning NCAA champion in the 50 free, claimed a win in the men’s 100-yard free posting a swift 43.17. Corey Main finished second overall with a time of 43.94, while Thiago Sickert of Nova Southeastern was third with a 44.43.

The women’s 100-yard free was won by Florida’s Natalie Hinds who turned in a time of 49.76. Florida’s States Alexis Smith finished second overall with a time of 51.16, while Julie Suarez was a close third with a 51.34.

Nova Southeastern’s Anton Lobanov claimed the men’s 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:01.05. Florida’s Mark Szaranek (2:03.75) and Ross Palazzo (2:05.76) grabbed second and third in the event.

Paige Scheriger of Florida finished first in the women’s 200-yard breaststroke with a time of 2:17.18, while Towson’s Jenna Van Camp was a close second finishing only .02 seconds behind with a time of 2:17.20. Katie Ermitage of Florida Gulf Coast rounded out the top three with a time of 2:19.04.

Pawel Werner (44.85), Dressel (43.23), Szaranek (44.64) and Corey Main of Florida turned in a combined winning time of 2:56.28. Florida State’s Jason McCormick (45.34), Kanoa Kaleoaloha (45.31), Jemal LeGrand (45.30) and Emir Muratovic (44.82) finished second overall with a time of 3:00.77. Florida’s ‘B’ relay finished third with a time of 3:02.48.

The University of Florida won on both sides, while Florida State took second on both sides. The Towson men and women finished third overall.

2015 All-Florida Invite – Results

1 Comment

1 comment

  1. Aleksandra Illenye

    Ashley was there top 8 in all the events ( 500 free 400 im 1650 and 200 fly

Author: Taylor Brien

Taylor Brien is the Circulation and Operations Manager at Swimming World. A native of Bettendorf, IA and a 2015 graduate of Illinois College, she has covered a variety of events since joining the SW team in 2015, including the NCAA Championships, World Championships, Olympic Trials, and 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here