British Swimming Nominate Eight Coaches To Team GB For Paris 2024

Tom Dean of Great Britain competes in the 200m Freestyle Men Final during the FINA Swimming Short Course World Championships at the Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre in Melbourne, Australia, December 18th, 2022. Photo Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto
Photo Courtesy: Giorgio Scala / Deepbluemedia / Insidefoto

British Swimming Nominate Eight Coaches To Team GB For Paris 2024

Eight coaches have been nominated by British Swimming to Team GB for the Olympics in Paris, three years after their record-breaking eight-medal haul at Tokyo 2020.

David Hemmings, Mel Marshall, David McNulty and Steven Tigg all oversaw athletes from their training cohort on to the Olympic podium three years ago and are nominated by British Swimming after being part of last year’s coaching team at the 2023 World Championships.

Ryan Livingstone – who guided Matt Richards to the 200 free title in Fukuoka before he joined forces with Tom Dean, James Guy and Duncan Scott for 4×2 gold – has been nominated for his first Games at Paris 2024.

Supporting that quintet and working closely with the Team GB pool swimming group will be Lisa Bates and Jamie Main.

It will be a third consecutive Games in such a role for Bates, while Main worked in the vital support coach position as Britain secured eight medals in Fukuoka.

Hayley Baker will coach the marathon swimming, replicating her role of Doha 2024 where Hector Pardoe won 10k bronze as one of three British athletes to secure Paris 2024 quota spots, along with Toby Robinson and Leah Crisp.

Bill Furniss – who will be the British Swimming head coach for the fourth time with Team GB in Paris – said:

“I am very pleased to congratulate these eight outstanding coaches on being nominated to the BOA to work with our Olympic team in Paris. Each one of them has repeatedly proved that they can deliver their best in the arena and help our athletes do the same, and they all came through a thorough and competitive selection process to earn this opportunity.

“With Olympic year now upon us, it is valuable for us to be able to appoint our coaching staff at this early juncture, as it allows individual staff to build and strengthen relationships and communication among the coaching group, as well as doing the same with our athlete cohort at key training camps and competitions between now and the summer, particularly with such a packed schedule on the horizon.

“We wish every coach the best for these crucial final months of this Olympic cycle, and it is another exciting step on the way to us nominating our Olympic teams for the pool and open water in 2024.”

These coaching nominations are supported by confirmation that British Swimming Performance Director Chris Spice will take up the role of Team Leader for a third consecutive Games, with Furniss and Dawn Peart reprising their respective positions as Head Coach and Team Manager, as they did in Rio and Tokyo.

Nathan Hilton has been nominated as the Head Coach for marathon swimming at these Games.

British Swimming nominated coaches

Head Coaches

Bill Furniss (pool swimming)

Nathan Hilton (marathon swimming)


Hayley Baker (marathon), Swim Wales High Performance Centre, Swansea

Lisa Bates, Chelsea and Westminster Swimming Club

David Hemmings, Loughborough Performance Centre

Ryan Livingstone, Millfield

Jamie Main, Bath Performance Centre

Melanie Marshall, Loughborough Performance Centre

David McNulty, Bath Performance Centre

Steven Tigg, University of Stirling

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x