Breeja Larson Victorious on Night 4 of Fran Crippen Memorial SMOC

Photo Courtesy: Peter H. Bick

The fourth and final night of competition at the 2018 Fran Crippen Memorial SMOC, hosted at the Marguerite Aquatics Complex, was highlighted by strong competition in the 100 stroke events.

Breeja Larson topped strong international competition to take home the 100 breast victory, while Team Elite teammembers Kendyl Stewart and Hellen Moffitt demonstrated their butterfly prowess.

Women’s 100 Breast

Breeja Larson of New York Athletic Club picked up the victory in the women’s 100 breast, touching the wall in a final time of 1:07.84.

Kierra Smith, winner of the 200 breast, and Ruta Meilutyte, winner of the 50 breast, delivered matching times of 1:08.08 for second.

Both Smith (1:07.05) and Meilutyte (1:07.35) have posted faster times in the 100 for 2018 and sit at 12th and 17th in the world rankings.

Men’s 100 Breast

Mario Koenigsperger, representing Trojan Swim Club, grabbed a narrow victory over GTAC’s Sam Iida in the men’s 100 breast. Koenigsperger stopped the clock at a 1:02.80 over Iida’s 1:02.89.

KISU’s Jaren LeFranc finished third with a time of 1:03.74.

Women’s 100 Back

Phoenix Swim Club’s Emi Moronuki grabbed victory in the women’s 100 back, turning in a time of 1:01.27 for the gold.

Mission Viejo’s Isabella Arcila Hurtado took second overall with a time of 1:02.20, while ISC’s Molly Gowans was third with a 1:02.31.

Men’s 100 Back

Trojan’s Luca Spinazzola and UCSB’s Douglas Nogueira posted close finishes for first and second in the men’s 100 back. Spinazzola claimed the win with a 56.80, just ahead of Nogueira’s 56.86.

CASC’s Cole Pratt rounded out the top three with a 57.06.

Women’s 100 Fly

Team Elite’s Hellen Moffitt neared the top 20 world rankings in finals of the women’s 100 fly, topping the competition with a time of 58.40.

Teammate Kendyl Stewart finished second overall with a time of 58.81, followed by China’s Yang Junxuan’s 59.90.

Men’s 100 Fly

Josiah Binnema of UBCSC flew to victory in the men’s 100 fly with a time of 53.69, finishing .68 seconds ahead of the competition.

UCSB’s Mason Tittle took second overall with a 54.37, just ahead of Tucson Ford’s Chatham Dobbs’ 54.70.

Women’s 200 IM

Erika Seltenreich-Hodgson posted a strong victory in the women’s 200 IM, slicing 2.89 seconds off her prelims time of 2:18.22 to finish first with a 2:15.33.

Picking up second was Riley Scott with a time of 2:!6.06, while Emily Overholt and Tatum Wade concluded the podium with a tie for third at 2:17.80.

Men’s 200 IM

China’s Wang Yizhe posted a top finish of 2:00.64 in the men’s 200 IM, while second place went to Phoenix Swim Club’s Takeharu Fujimori and his time of 2:01.04.

Jarod Arroyo of Pitchfork grabbed third overall with a 2:05.16.

Women’s 50 Fly

Stewart and Moffitt topped the women’s sprint fly events again, but this time Stewart claimed victory with a top time of 26.45 in the 50. Moffitt finished second with a 26.72.

Kenisha Liu rounded out the top three with a time of 27.19.

Men’s 50 Fly

Meiron Cheruti turned in the only sub-24 second time of the men’s 50 fly, emerging victorious with a 23.57.

Dobbs picked up second with a time of 24.01, while Marcus Schlesinger took third with a 24.13.

All results can be found on Meet Mobile – 2018 CA MVN Fran Crippen. 

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Julie Dow
5 years ago

Go Breeja! We love you in Phoenix!!!

Pro Women Fitness
5 years ago

Quite out of the blue

Joanne Menard
5 years ago

Yea Breeja Larson!!!

Gina Marcelli-Munk
5 years ago

Breeja you were so fun to watch this weekend. You are a an inspiration for your PSC family. We love you❤️❤️

Thomas A. Small
5 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x