Azura Aquatics Takes Three Wins on Night One of Plantation Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ross

Azura Florida Aquatics took three wins on Thursday night to open up the 2020 Plantation Speedo Sectionals from south Florida. The team won the mixed medley relay and the men’s 200 medley relay, as well as Yeziel Morales in the 800.


Morales swam an 8:13.84 to win just ahead of 15-year-old Josh Parent of Bluefish Swim Club (8:14.72). Morales, who represents Puerto Rico internationally, also led off his team’s victorious men’s medley relay with a 26.95. He was followed by Matteo Zampese (28.90), Abbas Qali (24.31) and Renato Herran (24.28) as the team won with a 1:44.44, just holding off the Colorado Stars (1:44.70) in second place. Colorado was boosted by Blake Wilton on the anchor leg with a 23.15.

Azura came back later to take the mixed medley relay win with a 1:52.27 on the backs of Laura Sofia Melo (31.05), Zampese (29.16), Qali (24.59) and Amanda Kopas (27.47). They also won a tight duel ahead of the Colorado Stars who were second at 1:52.66.

Spartan Aquatic Club and Bolles School Sharks also won two events on Thursday night as the two Florida teams have strong contentions in Plantation this weekend. Spartan won the men’s 200 free and mixed free relay with the men first taking the win at 1:34.78. The team of Wesley Carter (24.50), Colton McGrady (23.57), Nathaniel Stoffle (23.54) and Grant Allison (23.17) won by two seconds as they dominated from start to finish.

Their depth was on display in the mixed relay as only McGady returned to the A lineup, splitting a 23.35 on the anchor leg. Kamal Muhammad (24.44), Hailey Galbraith (26.53) and Samantha Stoffle (28.21) set McGrady up for the finish as they won by a second over Bluefish Swim Club (1:43.47).

Bluefish also got a relay win earlier in the night in the women’s 200 medley with Grace Farris (31.12), Ella Smith (34.49), Summer Smith (28.11) and Brynn Wright (26.17). They won with a 1:59.89, running down Bolles (1:59.97) in the process. The Sharks were able to rebound with a win in the women’s free relay later in the session from Adair Sand (26.72), Emily MacDonald (26.93), Manita Santianchokwisan (26.10) and Karaline Gavin (27.54) at 1:47.29.

Bolles’ Leah Degeorge also picked up a win in the 1500 at 17:00.79.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Thomas A. Small
3 years ago


Would love your thoughts, please comment.x