Austin Swim Club Takes Home Team Title: 2019 Futures Championships Des Moines Day 4

Photo Courtesy: Connor Trimble

By Sarah Berman, Swimming World College Intern.

The fourth day of the 2019 Futures Championship meet in Des Moines featured the 100 Freestyle, Men’s 800 Freestyle, 200 Backstroke, Women’s 1500 Freestyle and the 200 Individual Medley.

Women’s 100 Freestyle

Katherine Zenick won the 100 Freestyle by a tenth of a second (56.92) over Kristin Anderson (57.03). Rounding out the podium was Erin Doruska (57.98).

Finishing in fourth was Kaitlynn Wheeler (58.07), followed by Molly Leubner (58.29), Jolie Daspit (58.42), Rylie Lopez (58.57) and Crystal Florman (1:02.53).

Men’s 100 Freestyle

After taking second place in the 50 Freestyle earlier in the meet, Zachary Linder won the 100 Freestyle with a winning time of 50.89. In second place was Carter Nelson (51.21) and in third was James Pinter (52.44).

Finishing in fourth was Charles Bunn (52.20), followed by Connor Wiedemeier (52.65), Niccolo Velasquez (52.73), Michael Belair (53.02) and Tavis Siebert (53.05).

Men’s 800 Freestyle

After a tight battle for first place, Darwin Anderson ended up on top finishing with a time of 8:21.15 ahead of Daniel Seabaugh (8:22.46). Mason Edmund followed in third with a final time of 8:26.83.

Finishing in fourth was Evan Holt (8:27.30), followed by Daniel Henry (8:28.21), Max Oberg (8:28.65), Christian Hedeen (8:28.91) and Christopher Callan (8:30.65).

Women’s 200 Backstroke

Madelyn Mechling dropped almost another second from this morning to win the 200 Backstroke in 2:17.36. Kali Fama finished second in 2:18.10 and just behind her in third was Grace Frericks (2:18.70).

Finishing in fourth was Malia Rausch (2:20.09), followed by Addisyn Donfris (2:20.13), Sydney Cole (2:20.59), Skylar Ruggles (2:21.20) and Brooklyn Anderson (2:23.25).

Men’s 200 Backstroke

Eric Stelmar swept the backstrokes at this meet after winning the 100 last night and the 200 tonight with a time of 2:03.20. In second place was Brek Stukerjurgen (2:04.43) who finished just ahead of Kevin Glenn (2:04.50).

Finishing in fourth was Spencer Hohm (2:07.14), followed by Jaden Heinlein (2:07.15), Landon Driggers (2:08.08), Jacob Bening (2:09.52) and Shawm Mohseni (2:11.65).

Women’s 1500 Freestyle

Aurora Roghair had a monster time drop of 27 seconds to win the 1500 Freestyle in 16:55.49. Finishing in second was Hayden Miller (17:01.84) and taking the bronze was Kara Church (17:13.63).

Finishing in fourth was Carson Kaufmann (17:22.86), followed by Rebecca Simpson (17:23.38), Karly Merriott (17:25.65), Ava Topolewski (17:26.86) and Meghan Susil (17.28.27).

Women’s 200 Individual Medley

Katie McBratney improved her seed time by 2.48 seconds to win the 200 Individual Medley by two seconds (2:18.83). In second was Sarah Kutz (2:20.76) who got her hand to the wall right before Kaitlynn Wheeler (2:20.87). Wheeler had a quick turn around tonight after taking fourth in the 100 freestyle at the beginning of the session.

Finishing fourth was Maxine Parkinson (2:22.05), followed by Morgan Brophy (2:22.38), Madelyn Mechling (2:22.96), Rylie Lopez (2:23.92) and Elise Wehrmann (2:24.62).

Men’s 200 Individual Medley

Tanner Nelson became king of the Individual Medley races this weekend. He won the 400 Individual Medley earlier in the meet and won the 200 tonight in 2:06.39. Andrew Reiter followed in 2:06.98 and finishing third was Munzer Kabbara 2:07.03.

Finishing in fourth was Adam Milling (2:07.87), followed by Jaden Luo (2:08.00), Fletcher Hayes (2:09.48) and William Corona (2:13.77)

Final Scores

At the end of the meet, Austin Swim Club took home the combined championship title with 510.5 points, over 200 points ahead of any other club. Austin Swim Club also won both the individual men’s and women’s championships too by a landslide.