Austin Speedo Sectional Championships, Night 2: Sydney Pickrem Captures Breaststroke/IM Double

Photo Courtesy: Vaughn Ridley/Swimming Canada

It was a fast second night of swimming at the Southern Zone Speedo Sectional Series in Austin, Texas. The meet, which runs July 7 – 10, 2016 is a preliminary/final event hosted by Longhorn Aquatics.

Tonight’s main highlight was that Sydney Pickrem racked up two wins in a very strenuous double: the 200 breaststroke and 400 IM.

Women’s 200 Meter Breaststroke:

Kicking off the first event of the session was the women’s 200 breast. Sydney Pickrem (AGS) was the only swimmer to break the 2:30 mark, for a winning 2:29.25 time. Second went to Franko Jonker at a 2:32.16. Lillian Benwell (ASC) took third and seven tenths off her time with a 2:38.45.

Men’s 200 Meter Breaststroke:

Mauro Castillo Luna (AGS) lead the field in the finals of the men’s 200 breast, touching the wall over three seconds ahead of his competition in a 2:17.45. David Moore (SASA) posted a respectable 2:20.55 for second, while Tristen Disibio (LAC) cut a half-second from his entry time for third in a 2:22.05.

Women’s 200 Meter Freestyle:

Haley Yelle (MAC) overcame Ellery Parish (SASA) for the women’s 200 free win. Yelle touched the wall first in a 2:03.19, while Parish faded the second half of the race and touched second in a 2:03.71. 15-year-old Ella Collins (ASC) took a second and a half off her entry time for third in a 2:04.69. Fourth-place Hannah Feng also clocked a second and a half drop with a final 2:05.19 time.

Men’s 200 Meter Freestyle:

Winning the finals heat by over a second was LCA’s Nicholas Carlson in a 1:52.85. Grant Reed (TXLA) touched second in a 1:53.89 after a very evenly split 55-58 race. Third went to Alexander Zettle (LAC) in a 1:54.19. Alamo’s Zachary Yeadon took a half second off his entry time for fourth in a 1:55.06.

Women’s 400 Meter IM:

Sydney Pickrem (AGS) blew away the field, winning the A-finals by over ten seconds in a 4:45.16. Although the time is seven seconds over her 4:38.03 entry time, she was still nine seconds under the Olympic Trials cut (4:54.99), and the only one under the time standard in her field. Second in the race went to RICE’s Kaitlyn Swinney in a 4:55.78, who took the race out with Pickrem in the butterfly. Third went to last night’s 200 butterfly champion Dakota Luther in a very impressive 4:57.21 time. Luther took 18.73 seconds off her entry time for the placing.

Men’s 400 Meter IM:

4:32.11 was the time to beat in the men’s 400 IM finals. It came down to a touch, but Beau Fusilier took the title, just 6 one-hundredths ahead of Matthew Willenbring (ASC), who touched second in a 4:32.17. Willenbring cut 6.23 seconds off his entry time for silver. Third went to Grant Thompson in a 4:36.69, over a second off his entry time.

Women’s 200 Meter Medley Relay:

The Austin Swim Club A- team of Kendall Shields, Lillian Benwell, Dakota Luther and Ella Collins took the win in a 1:58.94. They were the only team to break the two-minute mark, cutting 3.80 seconds off their entry time. Second place went to the Lakeside Aquatic Club’s A-team in a 2:00.32, while third went to Texas Ford Aquatics’ A-team in a 2:01.15. Texas took an impressive 3.27 seconds off their entry time to place.

Men’s 200 Meter Medley Relay:

The Lakeside Aquatic Club (LAC) A- team of Ethan Kramer, Tristen Disibio, Alvin Jiang and Alexander Zettle took the win in a 1:46.22, just ahead of the North Texas Nadadores’ A- team. The Nadadores were just a few tenths off the winning team, touching second in a 1:46.63. Third went to Streamline Aquatics’ A-team in a 1:48.56.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x