Antonio Silva Re-Elected As President Of European Aquatics With Unanimous Vote In Athens

Picture courtesy: European Aquatics

Antonio Silva Re-Elected As President Of European Aquatics With Unanimous Vote In Athens

Antonio Silva was re-elected as President of European Aquatics following a unanimous vote at the Elective Congress in Athens.

It came two weeks after the governing body found there had been no breach of its rules following an ethics complaint against Silva.

The Portuguese said:

“I’m very proud of the team we have built here at European Aquatics over the past two years and today’s unanimous decisions show a collective commitment to advancing aquatics sports and fostering cooperation within the European and global aquatics community.

“It is not a one man show but a movement that want to work hard together for the benefit of Aquatic sports in Europe and worldwide. With this renewed mandate we are now poised to embark on a new chapter of growth, innovation, and inclusivity.”

Also re-elected were Josip Varvodic (CRO) as First Vice President, Andida Bouma (NED) as Treasurer, and Noam Zwi (ISR) as General Secretary.

Additionally, the Elective Congress saw the election of six Vice Presidents who will serve alongside the President and Officers for the next four years.

The newly-elected Vice Presidents include Kyriakos Giannopoulos (GRE), Christer Magnusson (SWE), Vania Udovicic (SRB), Gilles Sezionale (FRA), Marco Troll (GER), and Erkan Yalcin (TUR).

The bureau members for the term 2024-2028 were also elected, comprising Ewen Cameron (SUI), Fernando Carpena (ESP), Rokur I Jakuppstovu (FRO), Pia Johansen (SWE), Graeme Marchbank (GBR), Norbert Madaras (HUN), Milos Mracevic (MNE), Arno Pajek (AUT), and Camelia Alina Potec (ROU).

In a further demonstration of the organization’s global perspective, the membership also elected Kyriakos Giannopoulos, Sarah Keane (IRL), Otylia Jedzrejczak (POL), and Varvodic to serve as World Aquatics bureau representatives (starting in 2025), reinforcing European Aquatics’ presence and influence on the international stage.

This team will now steer European Aquatics until 2028. Their re-election underscores the confidence and support of the membership in their vision and capabilities to lead the organization through the upcoming years.

Forty-six National Federations took part in the Congress – 90% of the membership – which was also attended by the President of World Aquatics, Captain Husain Al Musallam and the President of the European Olympic Committees and the Hellenic Olympic Committee Spyros Capralos.

In another historic decision, Congress elected a new European Aquatics Integrity Unit consisting of a Council and an Adjudicatory body.

The elected council chair is Ashley Dominic Cox (GBR) and members are: Pia Zatterstrom (SWE) and David Szanto (HUN).

The elected chair of the Adjudicatory body is Isabelle Fellrath (SUI) and its members are: Enric Bertran (ESP), Vehovec Rok (SLO), Joost Richard Berculo (NED) and Amichay Weinberger (ISR).

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x