Andrew Wilson, Abbey Weitzeil, Santo Condorelli Shine During LCM Portion of American Short Course Championships

Photo Courtesy: Peter Bick

The American Short Course Championships this year featured a long course meter portion during the first two days before transitioning to short course yards the final two days.

Several world-ranked times went up on the scoreboard during the first two days.

Andrew Wilson vaulted to second in the world with a 59.91 in prelims of the men’s 100-meter breast before winning the finale in 1:00.40.  Only Yasuhiro Koseki has been faster with a 59.67 from the Konami Open.

Wilson won his second race of the LCM portion of the meet with a 2:14.38 in the men’s 200-meter breast after posting a 2:13.52 in prelims.

Canyons’ Abbey Weitzeil blitzed the women’s 50-meter free in a time of 24.72.  That swim jumped her to sixth in the world rankings.  Weitzeil also vaulted to sixth in the women’s 100-meter free with a time of 53.77.

Canyons’ Santo Condorelli churned out a ninth-ranked time of 22.24 to win the men’s 50-meter free. Condorelli claimed the men’s 100-meter free in a time of 49.00 to move to ninth in the world. Condorelli’s third win pushed him to 18th in the men’s 100-meter fly with a 52.88.

Jessica Hardy moved to 11th in the world rankings in the women’s 100-meter breast with a 1:07.65 from prelims before winning in 1:07.74.

Meanwhile, Canyons’ Stanzi Moseley snared the women’s 200-meter free title with a 2:01.35 after posting a 2:01.21 in prelims.

Aquazot’s Eva Merrell topped the women’s 100-meter back in 1:02.11. Merrell also won the 100-meter fly in 59.86.

Aquazot’s Katie Glavinovich won the women’s 400-meter IM in a time of 4:49.18. Glavinowich doubled up with a time of 2:15.50 in the women’s 200-meter back.

NCAP’s Kaitlin Pawlowicz captured the women’s 800-meter free in 8:46.42, while Texas’ Maggie D’Innocenzo touched in 2:15.11 to win the women’s 200-meter fly.

Rice’s Marie-Claire Schillinger won the women’s 200-meter breast in 2:30.65, while Rice’s Anniina Ala-Seppala claimed the women’s 400-meter free in 4:23.07.

Boulder City’s Abby Richter took the women’s 200-meter IM in 2:17.54.

Additionally, Texas’ Ian Lemaistre won the men’s 100-meter back in 55.75. Lemaistre also won the men’s 200-meter back in 2:02.88.

The Woodlands’ Michael McBroom took home the men’s 200-meter free in 1:49.71. McBroom doubled up with a 15:09.60 to move to sixth in the world rankings in the men’s 1500-meter free.

Aquazot’s Danny Yos claimed the men’s 400-meter IM in 4:29.81, while Aquazot’s Chris Taber snagged the men’s 200-meter fly in 2:02.56 after posting 2:02.20 in prelims.

Golden West’s Michael Brinegar topped the men’s 400-meter free in 3:58.55 after clocking a 3:58.40 in prelims.

Austin’s Matt Willenbring snared the men’s 200-meter IM in 2:05.33.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x