Adam Peaty Unloads Top-Ranked 59.55 in 100 Breast in Edinburgh

Adam Peaty ©gianmattiadalberto/lapresse
Photo Courtesy: gianmattiadalberto/lapresse

Adam Peaty unloaded the fastest men’s 100-meter breaststroke of the year at the 2016 Edinburgh Invitational.

Peaty uncorked a 59.55 to move ahead of Yasuhiro Koseki (59.67) and Andrew Wilson (59.91) for the top spot in the rankings.  Those are the only three swimmers to legally complete a sub-1:00 time this year.  Cody Miller had broken a minute at the Arena Pro Swim Series, but drew a disqualification.

Peaty split the race 27.85, 5955 (31.70).  Craig Benson tied Ross Murdoch for second behind him with 1:00.92s.

Ranomi Kromowidjojo hit the wall in 53.31 to win the women’s 100-meter free title.  That swim shot her to fourth in the world.  Only Cate Campbell (52.85), Sarah Sjostrom (53.12) and Bronte Campbell (53.30) have been faster this year. Robin Neumann tied Jess Jackson for second with 55.40s.

Earlier in the night, Pal Joensen claimed the men’s 1500-meter free title in 15:07.76.  That swim moved him to fifth in the world rankings with Damien Joly owning the top-ranked time in the world with a 14:58.18. Stephen Milne finished second in 15:10.13 with Jay Lelliott earning third in 15:21.97.

Camilla Hattersley captured the women’s 400-meter free title in 4:10.90 with Hannah Miley taking second in 4:11.04.  Eleanor Faulkner wound up third in 4:13.23.

Jemma Lowe earned the women’s 200-meter fly title in 2:08.61 to move to 11th in the world.  Aimee Willmott (2:10.07) and Laura Stephens (2:12.87) rounded out the top three.

Max Litchfield took home the men’s 200-meter IM title in 2:01.89.  Duncan Scott (2:02.79) and Kyle Stolk (2:04.55) claimed second and third.

Joeri Verlinden stopped the clock in 53.53 to win the men’s 100-meter fly.  Viktor Bromer finished a close second in 53.58 with Kregor Zirk earning third in 53.61.

Siobhan O’Connor earned the women’s 200-meter breast crown in 2:27.27.  Yvette Man-yi Kong (2:27.96) and Corrie Scott (2:29.84) took second and third.

David Cumberlidge, meanwhile, won the men’s 50-meter freestyle skins tournament with Jessica Steiger claiming the women’s 50-meter fly skins tourney.

Mie Nielson won the women’s 50-meter back skins tourney with Luke Greenbank topping the men’s 50-meter back skins tournament.

Final skins times are not yet available.

More to come.


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x