Brendan Meyer Crushes Timed Finals in Columbus with Two Individual Wins

Photo Courtesy: Angus Smith

After an eventful power outage in Columbus, yesterday’s events took place this morning as a timed finals session.  The line up consisted of the men’s and women’s 400 meter free, 100 meter breast, 200 meter fly, and 100 meter back.

To start of the session, the men’s 400 free took place and was an exciting race.  Brendan Meyer of the Northern Kentucky Clippers out touched Brayden Seal of the Ohio State Swim club by just .17.  Meyer touched first at 3:56.63 while Seal touched at 3:56.80.  The two were well ahead of the rest of the competition, with Christopher Bready of Bearcat Aquatics finishing in third at 4:00.92.

The 100 breast was next, with the women’s 400 meter free taking place at the end of the session.  Taylor Vargo of the Ohio State Swim Club got her second individual win of the meet after she cruised to the wall first with a time of 1:10.20. Once again, she was followed by Madeleine Vonderhaar of the Northern Kentucky Clippers who touched second at 1:10.78.  The two were over a second ahead of third place finisher Hanna Gresser who touched at 1:11.89.

The men’s 100 breast had a strong showing from the Ohio State Swim Club with Dustin Tynes and Jack Barone finishing second and third in the event at 1:04.46 and 10:04.98 respectively.  However, after just barely winning the 200 meter breast, Devon Nowicki dominated the 100, winning it at 1:02.34.

With the 200 meter fly next, the Ohio State Swim Club dominated the women’s side.  Meg Bailey and Amanda McNulty of OSSC finished first and second respectively.  Bailey crushed the event, finishing five seconds ahead of teammate McNulty, touching at 2:13.49.  McNulty was second with a time of 2:18.16, while Club Wolverine’s Emma Cleason touched third at 2:18.69.

On the men’s side, Brendan Meyer had his second win of the session, crushing the men’s 200 meter fly. Meyer touched at 1:59.32, six seconds ahead of second place finisher Gregory Nymberg of the Ohio State Swim Club who clocked in a time of 2:05.17.  Nymberg was just ahead of third place finisher Mitchell Strahlman who touched at 2:05.55.

Switching over to the 100 meter back, Kate Saczawa of the Ohio State Swim Club just out touched Madison Myers of Firestone Akron for the win.  Saczawa finished at 1:03.53, while Myers was right behind her at 1:03.58.  Myers teammate Sadie Fazekas finished third at 1:04.24.

After winning the 100 meter fly on Thursday night, Cameron Craig of Club Wolverine cruised to first in the men’s 100 meter back this morning.  Craig touched at 56.57.  Benjamin Martin was second behind Craig touching at 57.28, while Colin Reardon was third at 57.83.

To wrap up the timed finals, the women’s 400 meter free took place.  Once again, Ohio State Swim Club’s Lindsey Clary won the distance event of the session.  Clary finished at 4:20.02, about a second ahead of Allison Bloebaum of the Mason Manta Rays who touched at a best time of 4:21.38.  Mariah Denigan of the Northern Kentucky Clippers finished third with a best time of 4:22.42.

The Columbus Sectionals will continue with this evening’s session, which will also be timed finals. The timeline will consist of the men’s and women’s 200 meter free relay, 200 meter IM, 100 meter free, 400 medley relay, and the women’s mile and men’s 800 free.

All results can now be found on the Ohio State Swim Club site.


  1. avatar
    Thomas A. Small


  2. avatar
    Mary Kay Roth

    Congrats Brendan

  3. avatar
    David Craig Pursley

    Steve Pursley he kinda looks like you in this pic

  4. avatar
    Pam Zepf

    Brian Zepf!

  5. avatar
    Pam Zepf

    Awesome! #proudmeyerfamily

  6. avatar
    Maureen Eckert

    Congrats Melissa Dressman Meyer, that is so awesome! Love reading about your son and his success!