2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: Missouri State Claims Title

Antonio Thomas. Photo Courtesy: Jesse Scheve/Missouri State University

This is the final session of the 2020 Mid-American Conference men’s swimming championship in Carbondale.

Tonight, the team title went to Missouri State University who dethroned champion defender Miami University (Ohio). While Miami really surged in this session, it was simply not enough to surmount the lead that Missouri had built earlier in the meet thanks to their team depth. This win was a reminder that the sport of swimming is, in fact, a team sport. Had Missouri not made so many A-final appearances, this win wouldn’t have been possible.

Live Stream

Day 4 Results

2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 1650 Freestyle

For being the longest event of the meet, the 1650 Freestyle came down to the wire between defending champion Pawel Krawcsyk of Missouri and Antonio Thomas of Miami. In the end, Thomas took the win with a 15:08.99 to Krawczyk’s 15:09.04. Coming third and also from Missouri was Sebastian Odent in 15:25.22. While Miami did win the event outright, Missouri went 2-3-4 with Krawczyk, Odent and Jonathan Hill (15:42.36).

16501 16502 16503 16054


2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 200 Backstroke

Adam Cernek from Southern Illinois and the winner of the 100 Backstroke, won the elusive Backstroke double by dropping a 1:44.29 for the 200 title. In second was his teammate Connor Ripp with a 1:46.92. Logan Ackley from Ball State took third in a 1:48.22.


2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 100 Freestyle

Thomas Hajtman from Southern Illinois won a tight race for the 100 Freestyle title tonight in 44.44. Miami senior Nick Ward came second, just .07 seconds behind in 44.51. Meanwhile, Missouri’s Arthur Cury, the last swimmer under 45 seconds, took third in 44.91. Miami picked up serious points here by taking four of the A-final spots in the field.



2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 200 Breaststroke

Missouri State bounced back for their first title of the night by going 1-2 in the 200 Breaststroke. Connor Funke won the title in 1:58.15, followed by his teammate Michael Hampei in 1:58.91. Noah Barr placed third with his 1:59.22 and was also the last of the three swimmers under the 2 minute mark.



2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 200 Butterfly

Miami made an enormous surge in the 200 Butterfly to shock everyone in the field. They went 1-2-3 and took four of the eight A-final spots. Gordon Wheeler was crowned champion tonight with a winning time of 1:47.55. Spencer Klinsky took second in 1:48.11 and Ryan Sego (1:49.06) snatched third ahead of Missouri’s James Vaughn (1:49.85).



2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 3-Meter Dive

Missouri’s Michael Claunch won the 3-Meter dive with a strong showing of 310.80. Eli Mercado from Southern Illinois took second in 305.20 and Sam Wiedemann of Miami took third with a score of 289.50.


2020 MAC Men’s Swimming Championship: 400 Freestyle Relay

Though the scores for tonight were practically settled, Miami still fought for the win tonight by taking the 400 Freestyle relay title in 2:56.77. The group of Cole Grosshans (44.24), Nic Wamsley (44.14), Ren Chatwin (44.79) and Nick Ward (43.60) stole the show for a dominating win. Missouri State, the overall victors of the meet, went 2:58.60 for second. Coming third was Southern Illinois in 2:59.39.


Final Scores


1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
2 years ago