2019 Speedo Sectionals Rochester Night 4 Recap: Glenbrook Men, Scottsdale Women Win

Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

Editorial Content for Speedo Sectional Series is sponsored by Speedo. Visit Speedo Today

By Ryan Gibbons, Swimming World College Intern.

The final night of competition at the 2019 Rochester Speedo Sectionals featured the 1500 Free, 200 Back, 50 Free, and 200 Fly. Closing out the Central Zone Section 1 Championships, the evening saw the Glenbrook men’s team win its meet, while Scottsdale Aquatic Club won both the women’s and combined competitions.

In the men’s pool, behind Glenbrook’s 587.5 points sat Empire at 358 points, Scottsdale at 288 points, Rochester at 253 points, and Commonwealth at 203 points. The Scottsdale women took 636 points to win their meet, followed by Commonwealth with 386 points, Empire at 327 points, Badger Aquatics at 176.5 points, and Sioux Falls at 149 points.

Scottsdale held a combined 924 points at the end of the meet, followed by Glenbrook at 713.5 points and Empire at 685 points.

Women’s 1500 Free

Scottsdale’s Ashley Strouse concluded her freestyle reign at the meet with a 17:07.20, her final win of her 100-200-400-800-1500 saga. Behind her were Emily Ecker of PPSC (17:38.03) and Audrey Repko of EISF (17:41.31), who finished just hundredths ahead of SAC’s Kara Church (17:41.34).

Also in the top eight were ASC’s Genevieve Jorgenson (17:45.93), CS’s Sahar Mumtaz (17:51.15), LMST’s Lilly Weber (17:56.55), and SAC’s Grace Dunn (17:58.79).

Men’s 1500 Free

Minki Kang took the men’s title with a 16:02.77, ahead of Cameron Kelley (16:20.25) and Commonwealth’s Hubert Huang (16:38.00).

Finishing in the top eight as well were PSC’s Colin Kilcoin (16:41.30), RSC’s Elias Petri (16:56.14) and his teammate Matthew Strom (17:02.10), BNSC’s Tyson Tucci (17:05.43), and EISF’s Mason Turner (17:07.54).

Women’s 200 Back

Natalie Mannion of Commonwealth took the win with a 2:16.69, stopping the clock ahead of GSC’s Michelle Kaner (2:19.57) and SAC’s Greer Pattison (2:19.85).

Rounding out the A Final were also EAST’s Mary Rotenberg (2:22.27), ASC’s Genevieve Jorgenson (2:25.68), EAST’s Ava Franks (2:26.71), SAC’s Kara Church (2:28.50), and CS’s Sahar Mumtaz (2:28.82).

Men’s 200 Back

GSC’s Ryan Purdy took the win in a commanding 2:03.72, ahead of Garret Kiesel of EAST (2:10.17) and Kyle Wolford of WCS (2:10.83).

Behind them were Adrien Pierce of EAST (2:11.27), Andrew Lapin of CS (2:12.58) and teammate William Fuchs (2:14.25), GSC’s Max Iida (2:15.45), and RSC’s Elias Petri (2:20.49).

Women’s 50 Free

Finishing off the weekend’s sprint events, Pyper Doo of NSAC took the 50 in a 26.61, ahead of SFST’s Corinne Pelzer (26.90) and ASC’s Bryanna Bellile (27.03).

Also in the Championship final were SAC’s Ashley Strouse (27.38), GREA’s Mikayla Moore (27.41), ASC’s Anna Schmidt (27.47), SAC’s Sadie Edwards (27.60), and EAST’s Ava Franks (27.70).

Men’s 50 Free

In a tight championship heat, EAST’s Timothy Cushman took a 24.38 win in the men’s sprint, followed closely by GSC’s Michael Hadjiivanov in a 24.54, and a tie for third between GSC’s Sami Moussally and SPS’s Ben Wiegand at 24.55.

Closing out the heat were SAC’s Parker Hughes (24.63), SWAT’s Will Lennertz (24.67), FFSC’s Ethan Lowder (24.97), and FOXJ’s Keegan Duffy (25.03).

Women’s 200 Fly

In the final event of the women’s meet, Natalie Mannion of Commonwealth took her second win of the night with a 2:18.85, followed by Sadie Edwardsof SAC (2:22.27) and Anna Ogren of RSC (2:22.64).

Also in the final championship heat of the women’s competition were SAC’s Erica Esterly (2:23.63), EAST’s Kate Amar (2:23.64), ASC’s Lillian Grebner (2:26.68), CS’s Genevieve Youngman (2:27.84), and FOXJ’s Mallory Miller (2:27.88).

Men’s 200 Fly

Closing out the four-day meet was a phenomenal finish in the men’s 200 fly, with SAC’s Daniel Matheson taking the win in a 2:07.36, just ahead of GSC’s Quinn Loughran‘s 2:07.37. Jacob Shapiro of GSC took third with his 2:09.10.

Rounding out the top eight were also SAC’s Aaron Rosen (2:10.63), RSC’s Nikolas Wheeler (2:11.36), WEST’s Evan Bock (2:11.78), CS’s Hubert Huang (2:14.50), and CS’s Davis Bonebrake (2:18.89).

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

Way to go Bryanna!