2019 Speedo Sectionals Columbia Day 1: Men’s Sooner Swim Club Dominate Relays

Photo Courtesy: USA Swimming

Editorial Content for Speedo Sectional Series is sponsored by Speedo. Visit Speedo Today

By Olivia McKelvey, Swimming World College Intern.  

The 2019 Region VIII Speedo Spring Sectional meet is officially underway at the Mizzou Aquatic Center in Columbia, Missouri. The first day of competition will feature the women’s and men’s 200 free relay, the women’s and men’s 1000 free, and the women’s and men’s 200 medley relay. With approximately 24 teams participating there is bound to be strong races and fast times at this years annual region VIII Speedo Spring Sectionals.

After the first day of competition, The first top eight teams (combined women and men) are as follows:

  1. Flyers Aquatic Swim Team – 263
  2. Empire KC Swim Club – 213
  3. CSP Tideriders – 202
  4. Columbia Swim Club – 201
  5. Arkansas Dolphins Swim Team – 180
  6. Kansas City Blazers – 177
  7. Parkway Swim Club – 172
  8. American Energy Swim Club – 148

Women’s 200 Free Relay

The first event of the 2019 Region VIII Spring Sectionals was a battle between Flyer’s Aquatic Swim Team and the Arkansas Dolphins Swim Team. However, the Flyer’s were just able to out-touch the Arkansas Dolphins finishing in first to get the gold medal with a time of 1:34.47. The Dolphins were right behind in second with a time of 1:34.57. Third place went to Rockwood Swim Club, touching the wall at 1:36.38.

Men’s 200 Free Relay

Meanwhile, in the west pool, the men’s 200 free relay also proved to be a tight race for first and second place. The Sooner Swim Club was just behind Flyers Aquatic Swim Team at the 150 mark. However, with the anchor of Aiden Hayes, splitting a solid 19.75, the Sooner’s were able to take the race home as well as the championship title in the event with a time of 1:22.52. Other contributing relay members from the Sooner Swim Club were Daniel Wilson, Jonathan Tang and Caleb McGuire-Gregory. The Flyers’ took home a silver medal in the event with a time of 1:22.91. Bronze went to Empire KC Swim Club with a time of 1:23.64.

Women’s 1000 Free

Distance swimmers powered through 40 laps of pure endurance, but at the end your 2019 Region VIII Speedo Spring Sectionals Champion in the women’s 1000 free is Kate McCarville from Springfield Aquatics finishing with a time of 9:58.72. Finishing in second, eleven seconds behind McCarville, was Grace Beahan from Columbia Swim Club with a time of 10:09.50. Third place went to Joanna Dohrman from CSP Tideriders with a time of 10:12.60. Fourth place went to Northwest Arkansas Aquatics member, Madeline Marks touching the wall at 10:13.96. It was a close race between fifth and sixth place with just 31 hundredths of a second separating the two spots. However, Bethany Glen of Empire KC Swim Club touched the wall at 10:17.64, just ahead of Isabella Snyder from CSP Tideriders who fished the race at 10:17.95. Seventh place went to another Northwest Arkansas Aquatic girl, Chloe Thompson, posting a time of 10:24.36. Wrapping up the top eight finishers was Madison Rey from Flyers Aquatic Swim Team swimming a time of 10:26.11.

Men’s 1000 Free

The men’s 1000 free played out to be a highly competitive event with no more than three seconds separating a spot within the top eight. Your first place finisher in the event is Evan Holt from Club North Swimming with a time of 9:18.02. Shortly behind him in second, swimming for Parkway Swim Club was Ryan Baker touching the wall at 9:20.48. Third place went to Jonathan Hill from Club North Swimming with a time of 9:22.96. Finishing in fourth was River City Aquatics swimmer Daniel Seabaugh posting a time of 9:23.66. Fifth place finisher was Vincent Jaworski from Arkansas Dolphin Swim Team swimming a time of 9:26.26. Connor Jokerst swimming for Columbia Swim Club finished in sixth place with a time of 9:27.73. Seventh place went to yet another Columbia Swim Club boy, Luke Valley, touching the wall at 9:30.00. Final top eight finisher was Jonah Park from Kansas City Blazers swimming a solid time of 9:32.12.

Women’s 200 Medley Relay

Springfield Aquatics proved to be a powerhouse in the women’s 200 medley relay. Swimmers Casaundra Moses, Aubree Brouwer, K. McCarville and Maggie Moore finished with a time of 1:42.50. McCarville, who had won the women’s 1000 free earlier in the session, split a quick 24.55 in the 50 fly, helping the Springfield ladies finish to a gold medal. Behind Springfield Aquatics, finishing in second place, was Greater Omaha Aquatics Leopard with a time of 1:43.93. Bronze went to American Energy Swim Club finishing with a time of 1:44.48.

Men’s 200 Medley Relay

To wrap up day one of the 2019 Region VIII Speedo Spring Sectionals meet was the men’s 200 medley relay. The men of Sooner Swim Club took home yet another relay championship title on day one as they finish the event with a time of 1:31.32 thanks to swimmers: A. Hayes, Caleb Sullivan, Daniel Wilson and J. Tang. The boys faced tough competition from second place finishers Sarpy County Swim Club, who was just 15 hundredths of a second behind the Sooner’s finishing at 1:31.47. Third place went to Empire KC Swim Club With a time of 1:32.22.