2019 NJCAA Championships Day 1: Indian River Wins Four


By Olivia Wile, Swimming World College Intern.

Tonight marked the first full night of finals of the 2019 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Championship meet.

Indian River State College dominated the competition this evening with Savannah Best taking home two individual wins. The team also won both 800 relays, both 1000’s, both 200 IM’s and both 50 free’s with Ruben Van Leeuwen breaking 20.

Order of Events:

  • Women’s 50 Breast
  • Men’s 50 Breast
  • Women’s 1000 Free
  • Men’s 1000 Free
  • Women’s 200 IM
  • Men’s 200 IM
  • Women’s 50 Free
  • Men’s 50 Free
  • Women’s 800 Free Relay 
  • Men’s 800 Free Relay 

Women’s 50 Breast

Savanna Best of Indian River State College claimed the first finals win of the meet in the women’s 50 breast. She finished with a time of 28.77. Getting to the wall next with a time of 30.28 was Elizabeth Spitz of Barton Community College. In third was Emilie Andrin of Iowa Central Community College with a time of 30.62.

It was a race for fourth and fifth between Jessilyn Graham of South Georgia State College and Elianna Kennon of Indian River. Graham took fourth with a time of 30.88 while Kennon took fifth (30.99).

Finishing in sixth with a time of 32.23 was Jaelyn Estabilio of Southwestern Oregon Community College.  Elizabeth Schrock of Barton Cougar finished seventh (33.19) while Rachel Singleton of Indian River finished eighth (33.33).

Men’s 50 Breast

Taking first on the men’s side this evening was Emile Lutzeler of Iowa Central. Lutzeler won with a time of 25.42. Touching the wall second was Eric Veit of Indian River finishing with a time of 25.60.

Both in the 25 range were Emerson Zaplatar of Southwestern Oregon and Joshua Stegen of Indian River. Zaplatar finished third (25.91) while Stegen took fourth (25.95).

Michael Hartshorne of Indian River finished fifth with a time of 26.06 while Chris Mazier of South Georgia finished sixth (26.23). Coming in seventh was Christian Taylor of Barton with a time of 27.04 with teammate Rory Smith finishing eighth (27.18).

Women’s 1000 Free

Finishing in first with a time of 10:22.47 was Charlise Oberholtzer of Indian River. Not far behind was teammate Molly Layde with a time of 10:25.22.

Finishing third with a time of 10:53.91 was Iowa Central’s Eve Berg. In fourth was Southwestern Oregon’s Verity Vogel-Rigler finishing with a time of 11:01.03.

Coming in fifth with a time of 11:03.00 was Indian River’s Adrianna Rodriguez while finishing sixth with a time of 11:07.53 was South Georgia’s Anna Beth Deck. Teammate Casey Hall finished seventh (11:08.90) while Southwestern Oregon’s Piper Engler finished eighth (11:09.35).

Men’s 1000 Free

Conor Lynch claimed another Indian River win this evening in the men’s 1000. He finished with a time of 9:29.04. Just behind him was Iowa Central’s Vini Molz finishing at a 9:31.26. His teammate, Marcelo Busch took third (9:36.05).

It was a close race for fourth and fifth. Dante Padron of Indian River took fourth (9:41.54) while Collin McGuire of Southwestern Georgia finished fifth (9:41.68). Taking sixth was Iowa Central’s Javier Ronda finishing with a time of 9:49.41.

In seventh with a time of 9:58.52 was Tyler Bischoping of Monroe Community College. Behind the field and placing eighth with a time of 10:18.03 was Jacob Singleton of Indian River. 

Women’s 200 IM

Savanna Best of Indian River took home her second finals win of the evening in the women’s 200 IM with a time of 2:03.40. Her teammate Sure Van Der Merwe took second with a time of 2:05.13.

The Indian River momentum continued with Sophia Diagne and Camrym Hudson tying for third (2:05.58). Emilie Andrin of Iowa Central finished next with a time of 2:13.32.

Coming in sixth with a time of 2:14.06 was Iowa Central’s Mary Marshall. Natalie Sovie of Southwestern Oregon took seventh (2:14.13). Paula Ronda of Iowa Central placed eighth (2:14.52).

Men’s 200 IM

Jarryd Baxter of Indian River brought home another team win for the men. He finished with a time of 1:47.85. Teammate Olle Williamsson got to the wall second with a time of 1:50.15.

Third, fourth and fifth also went to the Indian River men. Kevin Bargate claimed third (1:51.84), Christian Mishimura took fourth (1:53.65) and Tucker Adams finished fifth (1:54.08).

In sixth place this evening with a time of 1:56.56 was Chris Mazier of Southwestern Georgia. Getting to the wall seventh was Mariano Sosa of Iowa Central finishing with a time of 1:57.06.

Southwestern Georgia’s Orion Bopp finished eighth (1:58.94).

Women’s 50 Free

Elianna Kennon of Indian River took first in the women’s 50 free. Kennon brought her team another victory with a winning time of 23.54. Teammates Emma Colvin, Camryn Wheals and Elizabeth Watts all stayed in the 23 range finishing second, third and fourth.

Colvin placed second (23.74), Wheals took third (23.81) and Watts finished fourth (23.82).

Barton Cougar teammates McKayla Siemiller and Reagan Smyth finished a close fifth (24.46) and sixth (24.58). Kenzy Green of Indian River took seventh (24.60) while Jessilyn Graham of South Georgia finished eighth (25.60).

Men’s 50 Free

On the men’s side, Ruben Van Leeuwen of Indian River finished first with a time of 19.91. Close to him, finishing second with a time of 20.16, was teammate Ryan Van Wyk.

James Camp of Southwestern Oregon broke up the Indian River run finishing next with a time of 20.22. Fourth went to Indian River’s Jared Ingram who finished with a time of 20.49.

Emile Lutzeler of Iowa Central finished fifth with a time of 20.73 with David Garcia of Barton Cougar finishing sixth (20.83). Eric Veit of Indian River placed seventh (21.02) while Marco Alvarez Sanchez of Barton finished eighth (21.60).

Women’s 800 Free Relay

Taking home another Indian River win this evening was the team of Sule Van Der Merwe, Camryn Wheals, Camryn Hudson and Elizabeth Watts. The women finished with a time of 7:39.58

Coming in second with a time of 8:04.29 was the Iowa Central team of Majo Diaz, Eve Berg, Mary Marshall and Paula Ronda. Placing third with a time of 8:13.88 was the Southwestern Oregon team of Verity Vogel-Rigler, Jaelyn Estabillio, Piper Engler, and Patricija Ozola.

Men’s 800 Free Relay

Following their women’s team and taking first in the 800 free relay were the Indian River men. The team of Ruben Van Leeuween, Joshua Stegen, Tiger Pilkington and Jarryd Baxter finished with a time of 6:30.01.

The Iowa Central team of Vini Moiz, Javier Ronda, Marceio Busch and Caleb Gaylor finished second with a time of 6:59.92

Finishing in third with a time of 7:05.83 was the Southwestern Oregon team of Emmerson Zaplatar, Brett Rice, Landon Stainajer and Collin McGuire.


Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Joe Plane
Joe Plane
5 years ago

Thank you so much for covering our meet!!

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x