2019 Futures Championships Des Moines Day 3: Two Qualify for Olympic Trials

Photo Courtesy: Nicholas McMillan

Day three of the 2019 Futures Championships in Des Moines featured the 200 Butterfly, 50 Freestyle, 200 Breaststroke, 100 Backstroke and 400 Freestyle.

Women’s 200 Butterfly

14-year-old Ava Topolewski of Mansfield Aquatic Club started off the session with a win in the 200 fly at 2:15.78 as she won ahead of Addisyn Donfris (2:16.37) and Sarah Kutz (2:17.42).

The final was fairly young as 15-year-old Scarlet Martin (2:17.79) finished fourth ahead of 16-year-old Hannah Merrill (2:18.09). 12-year-old Amelia Lester also made some noise in the final placing seventh at 2:21.22.

Kendra Preski (2:19.26) and Joelle Reddin (2:22.29) also swam in the A-Final.

Men’s 200 Butterfly

17-year-old Tavis Siebert of Pitchfortk won the 200 fly final with a 2:02.81 ahead of Daniel Matheson (2:04.04). Austin Swim Club’s Gavin Moak (2:04.50) finished in third ahead of Andrew Reiter (2:05.46).

Gary Jones (2:06.48), Munzer Kabbara (2:06.62), Connor McKenna (2:06.84) and Ethan Riser (2:07.07) also swam in the final.

Women’s 50 Freestyle

Only a half second separated the top eight finishers in the Women’s 50 Freestyle. Leading the way was Crystal Florman with a winning time of 26.23. The next trio to finish were all within .05 of each other: Kristin Anderson (26.50), Katherine Zenick (26.52) and Molly Leubner (26.55).

Finishing in fifth was Sally Ma (26.62), followed by Maxine Parkinson (26.68), Reagan Cathcart (26.77) and Grace Freicks (26.80).

Men’s 50 Freestyle

Jared Shaw won the event with an Olympic Trials qualifying time of 22.86. Finishing in second was Zachary Linder (23.31) and rounding out the podium was Carter Nelson (23.37).

Finishing fourth was Aidan Farley (23.69), followed by Eric Anderson (23.89), Charles Bunn (23.90), Trevor Brenner (23.99) and James Huenfeld (24.08).

Women’s 200 Breaststroke

Riley Courtney dropped 3.97 seconds today to win the event in 2:36.77. Finishing just behind her was Bridget McGann (2:36.90) and Moriah Ross (2:37.03)

Finishing in fourth was Emma Garfield (2:37.35), followed by Molly Urkiel (2:37.44), Katie McBratney (2:38.35), Paige Hunt (2:39.77) and Lillie Boggs (2:42.89).

Men’s 200 Breaststroke

Adam Fusti-Molnar had a monster swim, dropping two seconds to punch his ticket to Omaha in 2020 with a time of 2:16.93 well in front of the rest of the field. Taking silver was Liam Kerns (2:22.03) and the bronze went to Tanner Nelson (2:23.05).

Finishing in fourth was Alexander Lynch (2:24.43), followed by Lucas Smiarowski (2:24.93), Phillip Scarim (2:25.59) and Christian Weaver (2:30.53).

Women’s 100 Backstroke

The top qualifier from prelims, Reed Broaders held on to win the event tonight in 1:03.09. In second place was Miranda Grana at just 14 years old (1:03.52) followed by Kaitlyn Owens (1:04.06).

Finishing in fourth was Jamie Kolar (1:04.19), followed by Grace Frericks (1:04.21), Kalli Fame (1:04.27), Emily Giles (1:04.57) and Sophia Kuehn (1:05.67).

Men’s 100 Backstroke

Also the top qualifier from prelims, Eric Stelmar, won the event tonight in 56.92. Placing second was Kevin Glenn (57.33) and finishing third was Jacob Bening (58.11).

Finishing in fourth was Cameron Carney (58.46), followed by Fletcher Hayes (58.93), Trevor Halliburton (58.96), Thomas Nelson (59.11) and Andrei Spiride (59.50).

Women’s 400 Freestyle

Riley Lopez charged to the wall to win the 400 Freestyle in 4:18.57. This was her second win of the meet after she took home the 400 Individual Medley crown last night. Behind her was Hayden Miller (4:20.48) who out-touched Kaitlynn Wheeler (4:20.94).

In fourth place was Rebecca Simpson (4:21.33), followed by Kara Church (4:21.45), Carson Kaurmann (4:23.64), Emily Bucaro (4:26.06) and Madelyn Mechling (4:26.48).

Men’s 400 Freestyle

Matthew Knox went a best time by over six seconds today to win the 400 freestyle with a time of 4:01.56. There was a tight battle for second place between Christian Hedeen (4:02.07) who finished just ahead of Evan Holt (4:02.19).

Finishing in fourth was Darwin Anderson (4:03.60), followed by Michael Flynn (4:04.11), Christopher Callan (4:04.63), Juan Ceresa (4:05.32) and Jaden Luo (4:07.33)

In the B final, Aidan Farley had a lights-out swim and finished in 4:01.12, which would have won the whole event.

Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Katie Rhode
4 years ago

Cheryl Stelmar

4 years ago

Where is the day 4 recap for Des Moines?