2019 Big 12 Championships: Texas Fills A Final in Men’s 500 Free

Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo

Today marks the second day of competition for the 2019 Big 12 Conference Championships. Both Texas squads were able to secure several A final swims, with a few of the A heats including solely Longhorns.

Todays events include:

Women’s 500 Free

Men’s 500 Free

Women’s 200 IM

Men’s 200 IM

Women’s 50 Free

Men’s 50 Free

Check below for a live, event-by-event recap of todays action.

For full results, click here.

Women’s 500 Free

The Lady Longhorns will take the top two spots in the A final tonight by having Remedy Rule (4:43.68) and Joanna Evans (4:44.78) posting the top two times from the morning session.

Two more Longhorns, Evie Pfeifer (4:47.71) and Lauren Case (4:50.34) will also be in the A heat tonight.

Kansas has two swimmers set for the top eight tonight; Jenny Nusbaum (4:45.53) and Crissie Blomquist (4:51.54) earned their way with the third and seventh positions, respectively.

The Mountaineers are represented in the A final with Giselle Gursoy (4:52.38) taking eighth this morning.

Longhorn Logan Shiller (4:53.34) is taking the top seed in the B final, rounding out that heat in 16th will be WVU’s Alex Pampalone (4:55.68).

In tonight’s C final, TCU’s Sally Clough (4:55.86) will be in the middle lane while her teammate Victoria Barczy (4:58.43) will take lane eight tonight.

Men’s 500 Free

Texas veteran Townley Haas cruised this morning’s prelims, earning the second seed going into tonight with his 4:17.82, while his freshman teammate Alex Zettle (4:14.27) will be in lane four in the A final.

The Longhorn men will take up all eight lanes in tonight’s A final with studs like Jack Collins (4:20.18, 4th), Austin Katz (4:22.45, 6th) and Drew Kibler (4:23.65, 7th) in the mix.

The B final will be led by Texas senior Jeff Newkirk (4:25.08) and rounded out by WVU’s Trayton Saladin who swam a 4:31.78 this morning.

Max Gustafson is first alternate with his 4:32.70 from this morning’s heats.

Women’s 200 IM

Longhorn senior Nora McCullagh posted the only sub-2:00 time of the morning with her 1:58.57, which will put her in the middle lane for tonight’s A final.

Her teammates Brooke Hansen (2:00.34) and Ashley Pollok (2:00.41) are seeded second and third, respectively.

Kansas snuck two swimmers into tonight’s A heat with Elizabeth Amato (2:00.57) and Kate Steward (2:00.68) taking the fourth and fifth seeds, respectively.

WVU has Mogan Bullock seeded sixth going into tonight with her prelim time of 2:01.26.

TCU got a swimmer in the A heat; Katelyn Kenchel will represent the Horned Frogs in lane eight with her morning time of 2:02.21.

Men’s 200 IM

The Texas men captured seven out of the eight spots in tonight’s A final with Braden Vines (1:44.44) leading the charge.

Longhorn veterans like John Shebat (1:45.94, 5th), Ryan Harty (1:46.13, 6th) and Mason Tenney (1:47.70, 7th) will be in that A final as well.

The Mountaineer men have a lone representative in tonight’s A final with David Dixon posting a 1:47.82 to earn lane eight.

The B final will be led by TCU’s senior stud Dayne Odendaal, who put together a 1:48.72 to earn that middle lane.

Leading a crew of five Mountaineers in the B final will be Phillip Kay who posted a 1:48.96 to get the 10th seed for tonight. Rounding out the B final will be Fausto Huerta (1:52.48).

Women’s 50 Free

Texas freshman Grace Ariola is sitting as the top seed for tonight’s A final by virtue of her 22.18 from the morning. Her teammate, Julia Cook, is sitting second with her 22.35.

WVU put a swimmer in the A final with Julia Nilton swimming a 22.52 to secure the third seed.

Iowa State has Elynn Tan in the A heat with her morning time of 23.07.

TCU is also represented with Micaela Roemer taking lane eight with her 23.15.

Taking lane four in the B final will be TCU’s Anna Munster (23.20) while Iowa State senior Evan Hundley (23.47) will round out that heat.

Leading the C final tonight will be WVU’s Emma Bliss (23.50).

There will be a swim-off for the first alternate position between two Cyclones, Emma Sass and Martha Haas, who each produced times of 23.90.

Men’s 50 Free

Tate Jackson will take lane four in the A final with his 19.30 while WVU senior Merwane Elmerini (19.55) is taking the second seed.

There will be a swim-off for the lane eight spot tonight between two Longhorns, Charle Scheinfeld and Preston Varozzi, who each swam a 20.26.

WVU’s Drew Damich is sitting as the top seed for the B final (barring and changes after the swim-off) with his 20.39. Jake Armstrong will be in lane eight in that heat.