2016 Pac-12 Men’s Championships: Day 2 Prelims Live Recap

Reed Malone-23613413655
Photo Courtesy: Andy Ringgold/Aringo Photography

Day two of the Men’s Pac-12 Championships features the prelims of the first individual races of the meet. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

Today’s Events: 

  • 500 Free
  • 50 Free
  • 200 IM
  • 1-Meter Diving

500 FREE

Stanford’s Liam Egan delivered this morning’s top time in the 500 free, stopping the clock at a 4:13.67. Egan succeeded in shaving 5.55 seconds off his entry time of 4:19.22. USC’s Reed Malone turned in a 4:15.27 to return as the second-place seed for tonight’s finals. Danny Thomson of Stanford rounded out the top three with a 4:15.82, dropping 5.58 seconds off his entry time of 4:21.40.

Arizona’s Chris Wieser (4:16.09), Utah’s Bence Kiraly (4:16.17), and Cal’s Ryan Kao (4:16.86) grabbed fourth through sixth respectively.

Janardan Burns of Cal (4:17.79) and Pawel Furtek of USC (4:18.11) round out the top eight.

200 IM

Cal freshman Andrew Seliskar dashed ahead of the competition to turn in a first-place seed time of 1:43.48 in the 200 IM. Stanford teammates Gray Umbach and Abrahm DeVine delivered matching times to tie for second with a 1:43.56.

USC’s Patrick Mulcare posted a time of 1:44.39 to qualify fourth for tonight’s finals.

Arizona’s Nick Thorne and Thane Maudslien grabbed the fifth and sixth place seeds with strikingly similar times. Thorne posted a 1:44.61 over Maudslien’s 1:44.63.

Max Williamson of Stanford (1:44.78) and Michael Domagala of USC (1:44.83) return as seventh and eighth respectively.


The 50 free proved to be an incredibly close race with tonight’s top two qualifiers posting times .01 seconds apart. Arizona’s Renny Richmond topped the competition with a 19.51, while Cal’s Justin Lynch posted a 19.52 for the second place seed.

Stanford’s Sam Perry delivered a 19.61 for third with Tyler Messerschmidt of Cal finishing fourth with a close 19.63.

Jeff Garner of Stanford posted a 19.69 for fifth, shaving .95 seconds off his entry time of 20.64.

USC’s Ralf Tribuntsov (19.73), Arizona’s Chatham Dobbs (19.78), and Stanford’s Patrick Conaton (19.83) return tonight as sixth through eighth respectively.


Bradley Christensen of Stanford leads the 1-meter diving competition after prelims with a score of 377.60. Utah’s Jake Crayne posted a combined time of 370.15 to return as second, while USC’s Collin Pollard finished prelims with a third-place score of 364.50.

Stanford’s Connor Kuremsky turned in a total of 350 points for fourth, while Utah’s Josiah Purss finished prelims as fifth with a 337.15.

Heikki Makikallio of ASU (336.00), David Hoffer of ASU (331.25), and Arizona’s Dominic Ricotta (310.60) round out the top eight.

1 comment