2016 Maria Lenk Trophy: Day 4 Finals Live Recap

Jul 14, 2015; Toronto, Ontario, CAN; Marcelo Chierighini of Brazil competes in the men's 100m freestyle swimming preliminaries during the 2015 Pan Am Games at Pan Am Aquatics UTS Centre and Field House. Mandatory Credit: Rob Schumacher-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Courtesy: Rob Schumacher/USA Today Sports Images

Live coverage of day four finals of the 2016 Maria Lenk Trophy meet. Hit refresh for the latest coverage.

Men’s 100 free

Marcelo Chierighini (48.23) and Nicolas Oliveira (48.54) clinched the two Olympic roster spots for Brazil in the men’s 100-meter freestyle event by finishing first and second tonight.

Meanwhile, Joao De Lucca (48.68) and Matheus Santana (48.80) snagged the two other men’s 400-meter relay spots for Brazil on the Olympic team.  Cesar Cielo, meanwhile, elected to scratch the 100 free finale as he focuses on the 50 free later this week.

Canada’s Santo Condorelli placed third overall tonight in 48.66, while Gabriel Santos (48.84), Federico Grabich (49.10) and Pedro Spajari (49.54) also swam in the A final.

Women’s 200 fly

China’s Li Shuang won the women’s 200-meter fly tonight in a time of 2:11.46.  That’s well off the FINA A cut of 2:09.33 to qualify for a spot on the Olympic roster.

Joanna Maranhao was the top Brazilian with a second-place time of 2:11.75, while Virginia Bardach of Argentina took third in 2:12.08.

Maria Pessanha (2:17.11), Giovanna Diamante (2:17.36), Beatriz Dizotti (2:18.13) finished fourth through sixth.

Men’s 200 breast

Thiago Pereira just missed the FINA A cut of 2:11.66 with a winning time of 2:11.86.  That means the two Olympic spots will go to Tales Cerdeira (2:10.99) and Thiago Simon (2:11.29), who previously posted FINA A cuts.  Cerdeira did so during prelims today, while Simon pulled off his swim in December at the Brazil Open.

Felipe Silva placed second in 2:12.03 tonight with Japan’s Ippei Miyamoto finishing third in 2:12.13.

Simon (2:12.63), Cerdeira (2:12.72), Henrique Barbosa (2:13.33), Felipe Lima (2:14.94) and Matheus Neto (2:15.57) also swam in the finale.


  • Men’s 100 free
  • Women’s 200 fly
  • Men’s 200 breast