2016 Junior Nationals: Day 4 Prelims Live Recap

Photo Courtesy: Donna Nelson

Everything you need to follow along with prelims of day three of the 2016 Speedo Junior National Championships.

Schedule of Events:

  • Women’s 200 Free
  • Men’s 200 Free
  • Women’s 200 breast
  • Men’s 200 breast
  • Women’s 100 back
  • Men’s 100 back

Hit refresh for the latest results

Women’s 200 Free:

To start things off on day four of the Speedo Junior Nationals we had a close prelim session for the women’s 200 free, with the top 8 tonight only being separated by a second.  Morgan Tankersley of Greater Tampa finished first this morning to secure the top seed for tonight’s A final with a time of 2:01.79.  Just behind Tankersley was Miranda Heckman of the Pleasanton Seahawks who will be second tonight by just a few hundredths, touching this morning at 2:01.87.

Only a hundredth behind Heckman, Melissa Pish will be third going into finals at 2:01.87.  At fourth and fifth, we have Dakota Luther (2:02.08) of Austin Swim Club and Regan Smith (2.02.32) of Riptide Swim Team.

Then to round out tonight’s A final we have Morgan Scott (2.02.34), Taylor Ault (2:02.54) and Emma Nordin (2:02.77).

Men’s 200 Free:

On the men’s side, there will be a little bit wider of a spread for the top eight, but it will still be a close race! This morning, Drew Kibler of Carmel Swim Club clocked in the top time at 1:50.82.  Behind Kibler, Fynn Mirmuth dropped over three seconds to finish second this morning and get a best time of 1:51.00.

After Kibler and Mirmuth the race is incredibly close. Patrick Callan of Trident Aquatics finished third overall this morning after touching at 1:52.01, just ahead of Dayton Raiders Cody Bybee who was fourth at 1:52.12.

Bybee was then just a hundredth ahead of Upper Dublin’s Jake Sannem who finished at 1:52.13.  Levante Bathory (1:52.41) of Enfinity Aquatics Club, Jack Levant (1:52:55) and Sam Schilling (1:52.59) of the Aquajets will be sixth, seventh and eighth in tonight’s A final.

Women’s 200 Breast:

Moving on to the 200 breast, Zoe Bartel of Fort Collins crushed the event with a best time of 2:28.04.  Behind Bartel, Rachel Ramey of Texas Ford Aquatics was right at her best touching at 2:31.92 to secure her a second place seed entering finals tonight.

With Bartel and Ramey well ahead of the rest of the field, Bartel’s teammate Bailey Kovac was able to clock in the third fastest time this morning at 2:34.06.  Just behind Kovac was Halle Morris of North Bay Aquatics who finished at 2:34.83, while Kaki Christensen of Chelsea Piers Aquatics finished fifth overall with a best time of 2:35.26.

The rest of the top eight tonight will be Olivia Calegan (2:35.43) of Greater Nebraska, Nicole Williams (2:36.59) of Columbia Swim Club and Kelsey Lloyd (2:36.65) of Brea Aquatics, who all finished with best times this morning.

Men’s 200 Breast:

On the men’s side it was a very exciting prelims session for Race Pace Club’s Michael Andrew who had a best time by three seconds to claim the top seed for tonight’s A final.  Andrew touched at 2:16.66, while AJ Bornstein of Ridgefield Aquatics was just behind him at 2:17.19 to take the second seed tonight.

Jake Foster of the Mason Manta Rays was third overall this morning, finishing just at his best time at 2:17.41.  The top three seeds going into tonight have a slight lead on the rest of the field, with Devon Nowicki of Aqua Swim Club finishing fourth overall with a time of 2:19.35.  Nowicki will enter finals tonight just ahead of fifth place seed Tommy Cope of the Dayton Raiders who was right at his entry time, touching this morning at 2:19.78.

Ethan Dang (2:20.17) of King Aquatic Club, Brennan Pastorek (2:20.46) of Georgia Costal and Lyon Zhang (2:20.88) of Pleasanton Seahawks will also compete in the A final tonight.

Women’s 100 Back:

After winning the 200 back two nights ago, Lucie Nordmann of Magnolia Aquatics cranked out another best time this morning going a 1:00.31 in the 100 back to win the top seed going into tonight’s A final.  Behind Nordmann, once again Regan Smith of the Riptide Swim Team will take the second seed going into tonight’s A final.  After racing in the 200 free earlier this morning, Smith was able to clock in a best time at 1:00.86.

As the top seed entering the meet, Grace Ariola of Waves Bloomington was slightly off her entry time this morning clocking in at 1:01.83.  Ariola will be third entering tonight’s A final, with Callie Dickinson of Tide Swimming finishing fourth overall at 1:02.26.

Tevyn Waddell of Mitchell Aquatics finished with a best time of 1:02.50 this morning, to secure her a spot in the A final tonight.  Katherine Berkoff (1:02.59) of Missoula Aquatic, Bayley Stewart (1:02.94) of Fort Collins and Marcie Maguire (1:03.24) of Ridgefield Aquatics will also be racing in the A final tonight.

Men’s 100 Back:

With an incredibly quick turn around from the 200 breast, Race Pace Club’s Michael Andrew clocked in the top time this morning in the men’s 100 back at 55.60.  Earning the second seed tonight, Alessa Boratto of Upper Dublin Aquatics Club was just off his best at 56.01.

After winning the men’s 200 back two nights ago, Clark Beach of Quest Swimming finished this morning with a best time of 56.08.  Beach will be the third seed entering finals tonight, with Josh Artmann of Austin Swim Club earning the fourth seed tonight.  Artmann finished second in the 200 back with a best time, but was just of his entry time this morning, clocking in a 56.84.

Finishing fifth overall this morning was Noah Henry of the Tigershark’s with a time of 56.92.  Kyle Mass of Michigan Lakeshore was right behind Henry at 57.14, just a hundredth ahead of King Aquatics Thomas Anderson at 57.15.

And to round out the A final for the men’s 100 back, John Whiteside of Westport Weston finished eighth with a best time of 57.21.

Notify of

Welcome to our community. We invite you to join our discussion. Our community guidelines are simple: be respectful and constructive, keep on topic, and support your fellow commenters. Commenting signifies that you agree to our Terms of Use

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x