Voting Open for USA Swimming Golden Goggle Awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colorado, October 8. IN six weeks, New York City will probably have a little more of a golden hue to it, as nearly all of the Olympians on the United States Olympic swimming roster will reunite for the Golden Goggle awards at the New York Marriott Marquis.

USA Swimming released the nominees for the 10 awards that will be presented on November 19, including the coveted Male and Female Athlete of the Year honors. Each nominee in those categories won individual gold medals in London. Bob Costas will be on hand as master of ceremonies, a change from the past few years that have had entertainment celebrities act as host.

Below, the nominees for each category:

Breakout Performer of the Year
Cammile Adams
Haley Anderson
Breeja Larson
Katie Ledecky
Scott Weltz

Perseverance Award
Tyler Clary
Anthony Ervin
Jessica Hardy
Davis Tarwater

Coach of the Year
Bob Bowman
Teri McKeever
Dave Salo
Todd Schmitz
Gregg Troy

Relay Performance of the Year
Women's 4 x 200 Free Relay — Olympics
Men's 4 x 200 Free Relay — Olympics
Women's 4 x 100 Medley Relay — Olympics
Men's 4 x 100 Medley Relay — Olympics

Female Performance of the Year
200m Free — Allison Schmitt — Olympics
800m Free — Katie Ledecky — Olympics
200m Back — Missy Franklin — Olympics
200m Breast — Rebecca Soni — Olympics
100m Fly — Dana Vollmer — Olympics

Male Performance of the Year
100m Free — Nathan Adrian — Olympics
100m Back — Matt Grevers — Olympics
200m Back — Tyler Clary — Olympics
200m IM — Michael Phelps — Olympics
400m IM — Ryan Lochte — Olympics

Female Athlete of the Year
Missy Franklin
Allison Schmitt
Rebecca Soni
Dana Vollmer

Male Athlete of the Year
Nathan Adrian
Matt Grevers
Ryan Lochte
Michael Phelps

Fans can vote by going to the Golden Goggles page on USA Swimming's website. Voting runs until November 9, with online voting comprising 5 percent of the final vote, according to USA Swimming.

Ryan Lochte will be looking for a fourth-straight win as Male Athlete of the Year, while Missy Franklin will hope to repeat as Female Athlete of the Year. Both were also honored last year with the Male and Female Race of the Year, and Gregg Troy was given the Coach of the Year award.

Comments Off on Voting Open for USA Swimming Golden Goggle Awards

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here