USA Swimming Releases Early Psych Sheet for Arena Grand Prix ‘ Minneapolis

MINNEAPOLIS, Minnesota, November 8. SOME big hitters will open the 2013-14 Arena Grand Prix series next week in Minneapolis as Olympic gold medalists Claire Donahue, Conor Dwyer, Jessica Hardy and Matt McLean will all be in action according to the latest psych sheets released by USA Swimming.

Additionally, hometown favorite David Plummer, who trains in the state and swam for the Minnesota Golden Gophers, will also be at the meet that will take place in short course yards. Overall, around 600 swimmers are slated to compete next week.

Update, November 11: North Baltimore Aquatic Club coach Bob Bowman said Allison Schmitt will not participate in the Minneapolis meet, choosing to stay at the University of Georgia to complete her studies there.

The meet take places Nov. 14-16 with prelims at 9 a.m. local and finals at 6 p.m. local. USA Swimming will be providing a live webcast of the meet online at

According to a USA Swimming press release on the event:
As part of USA Swimming’s partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series will offer swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events. In total, $150,000 in prize money is available to be distributed over the course of the six-meet series. At each meet, $500 will be awarded for a first-place finish, $300 for second and $100 for third in all individual events. Arena is serving as the title sponsor for the Arena Grand Prix Series for the second straight year.

In addition to the prize money, swimmers will compete for a Series grand prize from BMW. For the first time in the history of the Series, BMW will give the highest-scoring eligible male and female U.S. swimmer a one-year lease of a BMW ActiveHybrid 3 Series.

Male and female overall Arena Grand Prix Series champions will be honored at the conclusion of the 2013-14 series based on the number of points accumulated throughout the six meets. Participants will be awarded points in each individual Olympic event throughout the duration of the Series (Five points for first, three for second, one point for third place). Olympic gold medalists Missy Franklin and Ryan Lochte won the 2012-13 series titles.

Here’s a link to the psych sheet location that will be updated as changes are made heading into the meet:

Comments Off on USA Swimming Releases Early Psych Sheet for Arena Grand Prix ‘ Minneapolis

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue