USA Swimming Grand Prix, Long Beach: Mary DeScenza Doubles, Matt Grevers Lights Up 50 Free, Mission Takes Down U.S. National Age Group Record

LONG BEACH, California, January 18. THE third evening of action at the USA Swimming Grand Prix held in Long Beach, Calif., featured some quick swims across the board – including a U.S. National Age Group record.

Women's 200 free
A day after breaking the American record in the 200 fly, Mary DeScenza lit up the pool in the 200 free with a winning time of 1:43.93. Lacey Nymeyer claimed second in 1:47.08, while Chloe Sutton showed off some developing speed with a third-place 1:47.72.

Men's 200 free
Ryan Lochte touched out Ous Mellouli with a come-from-behind triumph, 1:33.32 to 1:33.55. Meanwhile, Matt Grevers captured third in 1:34.31.

Women's 200 breast
Keri Hehn earned the crown in 2:09.56, while Jordan Danny took second in 2:11.18. Caitlin Leverenz finished third in 2:11.77.

Men's 200 breast
Cody Miller cleared the 2:00 barrier with a swift swim of 1:59.33. Trevor Hoyt touched out Carl Mickelson, 2:02.22 to 2:02.24, to take second in the event.

Women's 50 free
Mary DeScenza continued her march towards winning the overall Grand Prix prize with a winning time of 22.66. Rugile Mileisyte touched second in 22.78, while Lacey Nymeyer claimed third in 22.81.

Men's 50 free
Matt Grevers scorched the meet with a sterling time of 19.15 to follow up his sub-19 time at short course nationals. William Copeland placed second in 19.70, while Joey Hale tied with Ryan Lochte for third with matching 19.74s.

Women's 400 IM
Lyndsay DePaul walked away with the title in 4:13.71, while Meghan Hawthorne (4:14.61) and Jessie Schmitt (4:15.78) captured second and third, respectively.

Men's 400 IM
Ous Mellouli held off a hard charging Hidemasa Sano, 3:41.09 to 3:41.39, while Austin Brown finished third in 3:52.33.

800 free relays
The Mission Viejo squad of Charlie Rimkus (1:40.13), Jon Daniec (1:40.61), Deni Cullom (1:41.59) and Tom Shields (1:34.58) took down the 15-18 U.S. National Age Group record with a time of 6:36.91. That performance cleared the 6:38.31 set by SwimMAC's Ricky Berens, Jimmy Dabney, Sean Patton and Matthew Patton in 2005.

Meanwhile, Cougar's Sierra Burton, Talor Whitaker, Emma Neely and Michaela Ahlin won the women's race in 7:25.63.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here