University of Tennessee Wins 15th Annual Dallas Morning News Classic

University of Tennessee won its first Dallas Morning News Swimming and Diving Classic title at the Perkins Natatorium on the SMU campus.

The 2nd ranked Volunteers tallied 332 points to run away with the championship. Stanford was second (290 points), Michigan third (284), Texas fourth (277), SMU fifth (263) and Auburn sixth (210).

Tennessee won the 400 medley relay, 100 and 200 breast (Jeremy Linn), 1m and 3m diving (Evan Stewart), 200 and 400 free relays and the 100 free (Brendan Crowley).

Texas’ Neil Walker was selected MVP of the meet. Walker won the 50 free (20.45) and 100 back (47.82). He also set a meet and pool record in the 200 back (1:43.88). The previous record of 1:44.11 was established by SMU’s Ryan Berube (1996 Olympic gold medalist) last year.

Comments Off

Author: Archive Team

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here