Sandi Rousseau, Bob Bruce Top Masters Honorees for 2003

By Phillip Whitten

SAN DIEGO, September 15. THE Pacific Northwest region dominated the awards at the US Aquatic Sports banquet last night in San Diego.

Sandi Rousseau, of Oregon Masters, was the winner of the "Ransom Arthur Award." Named for the founder of Masters swimming, Dr. Ransom Arthur, this most prestigious of all Masters swimming awards annually recognizes an individual who has made outstanding contributions to Masters swimming.

Bob Bruce, Oregon Masters coach, swam away with "USMS Coach of the Year" honors.

A lucky 13 individuals were named recipients of the "Dorothy Donnelly USMS Service Award":
Harry DeLong, Virginia
Jack and Peggy Buchanan, Colorado
Pam Himstreet, Oregon
Michael Collins, Southern Pacific
Mike Lemke, Kentucky
David Diehl, Potomac
Adrienne Pipes, San Diego Imperial
Margie Hutinger, Florida
David Radcliff, Oregon
Shannon Sullivan, Southern Pacific
Melissa Rinker, Indiana
Kris Wingenroth, Gulf
Patty Powis, Virginia

The "TYR/USMS Newsletter of the Year" award went to: Splashmaster, Inland Northwest LMSC. The newsletter is edited by Doug Garcia, head coach of the 220-swimmer strong Washington State Masters club.

The "USMS Fitness Award" was shared for the first time. The winners were Pam Himstreet, Oregon, and Paul and Margie Hutinger, of the Florida Maverick Masters.

The "David Yorzyk Award" given to the individual who swam the year's most outstanding 400 IM (short or long course), went to Florida's Bumpy Jones.

Mark Gill, Arizona, won the Raleigh Area Masters National Championship Meet Award. Gill was meet director of this year's highly successful Short course Nationals in Tempe, Arizona.

The 2004 Rule Book Cover Design Contest was won by Bill Volckening, New England.

The 2004 Rule Book will be dedicated to Joanne Tingley.

Comments Off on Sandi Rousseau, Bob Bruce Top Masters Honorees for 2003

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue