Race Video: Watch Allie Szekely, Patrick Conaton in Breakthrough Swims in 200 Back

Editorial coverage for U.S. Junior Nationals proudly sponsored by Q Swimwear!

IRVINE, California, August 1. SOME personal barriers were broken in the 200-meter backstrokes at the USA Swimming Junior Nationals.

Women’s 200 back

Central Bucks’ Allie Szekely went out hard, and held on for the win with a time of 2:11.29. That’s a full second drop off her best time of 2:12.39 from this morning as the 16-year-old put up the ninth-fastest time ever in her age group. Carmel’s Claire Adams, who is taking on a difficult double with a 100 free swim in a few minutes, took second in 2:12.02. That’s a huge drop for her as she posted a best 2:13.45 this morning during prelims. She came in today with a 2:15.42 as her best. Grace Ariola of the Waves of Bloomington rounded out the top three in 2:12.69.

Hopkins Mariner Erin Earley took fourth in 2:12.92 with Y-Sparta’s Danielle Galyer clocking a 2:12.96 to close out the 2:12s for the A final. CyFair’s Cameron McHugh (2:13.29), Spokane Waves’ Emma Schanz (2:13.71) and Lakeside’s Sydney Sell also vied for the junior national title.

PASA’s Ally Howe topped the B final in the event with a personal-best effort of 2:12.98 as she broke the 2:13 barrier for the first time. That performance beat her previous best of 2:13.10 from last summer’s junior nationals. Gabby Deloof turned in a second-place 2:15.06 as she edged BCH’s Abby Richter (2:15.29) for second in the consolation heat.

Scottsdale’s Taylor Ruck had an amazing swim in the C final with a time of 2:13.05. The 14-year-old turned about the same time as Lakeside’s Asia Seidt at the 150-meter mark, then turned on the afterburners down the stretch to beat Seidt’s 2:15.05. Entering today, Ruck had a personal best of 2:19.24, and dropped six seconds in sum after a 2:17 in prelims. That’s a HUGE move. Lexy Aitchison of Clearwater took third.

A final

B final

C final

Men’s 200 back

Badger’s Patrick Conaton led a trio of swimmers in the 1:59 range as he broke 2:00 for the first time with a title-winning effort of 1:59.67. His time this morning of 2:00.50 had downed his previous best of 2:02.18, so that is nearly a three second drop today. Tualatin’s Patrick Mulcare picked up second-place honors in 1:59.78, under his best of 2:01.61, while Dynamo’s Michael Taylor earned third in 1:59.90.

FAST’s Joey Reilman (2:01.57), Aquazot’s Corey Okubo (2:01.91), Sarasota Y’s Austin Katz (2:02.45), Aquazot’s Thomas Smith (2:02.80) and SwimMAC’s Nathan Murray (2:04.02) also competed in the finale.

Aquazot’s Daniel Tran clocked a big personal best to win the B final heat in 2:02.04. That’s down from his 2:03.21 set this morning during prelims. Dayton Raider Brock Turner picked up second-place in the consolation heat with a 2:02.55, while NOVA’s Wade O’Brien also cleared 2:03 with a third-place 2:02.92.

Joe Young of Southeastern took the bonus final in 2:03.05. After coming into today with a 2:07.52 personal best, he nearly cleared the 2:03 barrier as he put up some serious times today. Sarasota Y’s Matt O’Donnell finished second in 2:03.90 with Dayton Raider Henrik Pohlmann placing third in 2:03.91.

A final

B final

C final

Comments Off on Race Video: Watch Allie Szekely, Patrick Conaton in Breakthrough Swims in 200 Back

Author: Jason Marsteller

Jason Marsteller is the general manager of digital properties at Swimming World. He joined Swimming World in June 2006 as the managing editor after previous stints as a media relations professional at Indiana University, the University of Tennessee, Southern Utah University and the Utah Summer Games.

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here