NCAA Swimming: #1 Texas Men Remain Undefeated, Down #14 SMU; #12 Texas Women Fall To #9 Lady Mustangs

Austin, TX – The No. 1 ranked University of Texas men’s swimming and diving team, powered by wins in 11 of the meet’s 15 events, defeated No. 14 SMU 156-113 in dual-meet action at the Perkins Natatorium in Dallas, Texas, on Saturday. With this win, head coach Eddie Reese’s Longhorns improve to a spotless 9-0 on the season. Also at the Perkins Natatorium on Saturday, the No. 12 Texas women’s swimming and diving team, however, fell 170-130 to No. 9 SMU. This meet marks the final dual meet of the 1999-2000 season for head coach Jill Sterkel’s Longhorn women, who lower their record to 2-6.

Sophomores Troy Dumais (Ventura, Calif. / Buena) and Tommy Hannan (Baltimore, Md. / Mount St. Joseph) each captured two individual events to lead the Horns to victory. While Dumais claimed first-place honors in both the one- and three-meter springboard diving competitions to remain undefeated on both boards this season, Hannan swept the 100- and 200-yard butterfly titles, posting NCAA consideration standard times in both events.

Also winning individual events for Texas were senior Russell Chozick (Austin, Texas / Westlake), who won the 100-yard breaststroke; junior Nate Dusing (Villa Hills, Ky. / Covington Catholic), who claimed first place in the 200-yard freestyle; senior Bryan Jones (College Station, Texas / A&M Consolidated), who captured the 50-yard freestyle title; freshman Chris Kemp (Southlake, Texas / Fort Worth Christian), who won his second-straight title in the 100-yard freestyle after also winning Friday night against TCU; sophomore David Natenberg (Houston, Texas / Klein), the 500-yard freestyle victor; junior Matt Ulrickson (Scottsdale, Ariz. / Saguaro), who captured the 100-yard backstroke in the meet’s first event; and senior Jon Younghouse (Cape Girardeau, Mo. / Cape Central), who won the 1,000-yard freestyle competition.

The Texas women, who won five individual events, were lead by junior Colleen Lanne (Tucson, Ariz. / Salpointe Catholic), who won both the 100- and 200-yard freestyle competitions. Sophomore Bethany Lindberg (Woodbridge, Va. / Woodbridge) also continued her excellent season by winning the 100-yard backstroke. Sophomore Natalia Diea (Austin, Texas / Westwood), who captured the three-meter springboard title, and freshman Tanica Jamison (Dublin, Calif. / Dublin), the 200-yard individual medley winner, also contributed individual-event victories for the Longhorns.

The top-ranked Texas men return to action on Saturday, February 12 when they travel to College Station, Texas, to take on the 15th-ranked Texas A&M Aggies. The 12th-ranked Longhorn women, however, will have next weekend off from competition in order to prepare to defend their conference title at the 2000 Big 12 Conference Championships on Thursday-Saturday, February 17-19 in College Station, Texas.

Comments Off on NCAA Swimming: #1 Texas Men Remain Undefeated, Down #14 SMU; #12 Texas Women Fall To #9 Lady Mustangs

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here