Mizzou Men and Women Win 7 of 8 Individual Events at Lincoln Speedo Sectionals

Photo Courtesy: Columbia Missourian

Friday night of the 2017 Lincoln Speedo Sectionals saw the finals of the 400-meter freestyle, 100-meter breaststroke, 200-meter butterfly, 100-meter backstroke, and 800-meter freestyle relay. College swimmers from the University of Missouri dominated the individual events, winning seven out of eight during the course of the evening. Highlights include Mizzou men going 1-2 in both the 100-meter breaststroke and 200-meter butterfly, and 14-year-old Kate McCarville‘s silver medal in the women’s 200-meter butterfly.

Missouri State University commit Liberty Howell of SwimTulsa held off incoming Cal freshman Dannie Dilsaver of Greater Nebraska Swim Team for the title in the women’s 400-meter freestyle, touching in 4:23.50 to Dilsaver’s 4:24.86. Her last 50 split of 30.68 gave her the win, just as it did in the 800. Third place went to Club Huskers’ Katarina Sickle, who finished in 4:25 flat.

Mizzou’s Jacob Wielinksi won the event for the men with his time of 4:06.77, with Jackson Allmon of Council Bluffs Swim Club close behind in 4:07.13 for the silver. Wielinksi’s Missouri teammate Gustavo Gutierrez Lozano grabbed the bronze with a 4:09.33.

University of Missouri notched another first-place finish with Katharine Ross‘s dominant performance in the women’s 100-meter breaststroke – her time of 1:10.39 was just under three seconds ahead of second-place Jordan Ehly‘s time of 1:13.09. Ehly, with Nebraska University’s Club Huskers team, was the winner of the 200-meter breaststroke. Third place went to teammate Victoria Beeler by just 0.05, with her time of 1:13.14.

Mizzou swimmers continued to dominate in the men’s 100-meter breaststroke, with Caleb Hicks and Jordan O’Brien going 1-2, respectively. Hicks finished in 1:04.23, and O’Brien in 1:05.29. Lance Culjat of Omaha Swim Federation was close behind for the bronze medal with his time of 1:06.01. Notably, 46-year-old Siphiwe Baleka‘s prelims time of 1:08.55 in the event was just about a second off of the men’s 45-49 national Masters record, but it still ranks as the second fastest time ever for his age group nationally.

Sharli Brady of the University of Missouri notched the team’s fourth first-place finish of the evening with her winning time of 2:13.50 in the women’s 200-meter butterfly. She was just about four seconds ahead of the rest of the field, with 14-year-old McCarville of Springfield Aquatics taking the silver medal in 2:17.34. Dana Posthuma of Club Huskers finished in third with her time of 2:18.23.

Gutierrez Lozano won for the men in a close race against teammate Nick Alexander in the men’s 200-meter butterfly, touching in 2:04.60. Alexander finished second with a time of 2:05.36 after putting up a strong back half. The bronze medal went to River City Aquatics’ Brogan Davis in 2:06.53, a win of the night for the high schoolers.

Mizzou’s winning streak held in the women’s 100-meter backstroke with Samantha Wilt‘s first-place swim of 1:03.72. Nebraska University’s Club Huskers took silver and bronze, Lindsay Helferich with a 1:04.02 and Carla Gonzalez with a 1:04.38.

University of Missouri continued their domination as Alexander paid no heed to his quick turnaround and won the men’s 100-meter backstroke in 57.95. Arkansas Dolphins Swim Team Thomas Heye was second in 59.30, and third place went to Davis in 59.86.

Club Huskers women’s A and B teams went 1-2 in the women’s 800-meter freestyle relay. The A-team of Kaylyn Flatt, Gonzalez, Beeler, and Sickle combined for the win in 8:40.38, while B-lay Anna McDonald, Helferich, Lindsey Stalheim, and Posthuma touched in 8:45.31. Third place went to Angelina Ke, Alyssa Bloser, Allie Rogers, and Olivia Johnson of Arkansas Dolphins Swim Team in 8:51.72.

The Arkansas Dolphins men put up a strong showing in the men’s 800m freestyle relay event, as Levi Lewis, Heye, Alexander Ware, and Vincent Jaworski combined for a time of 8:08.48. Second place went to Jonathan Thomas, Lance Godard, Thomas Huffman, and Reece Stikeleather of Empire KC Swim Club’s B-team in 8:12.68. River City Aquatics’ Caleb Fell, Jacob Bening, Davis, and Daniel Seabaugh were close behind in 8:13.69 for third place.

Live results can be found here, or on Meet Mobile under 2017 Region VIII Summer Sectionals.

1 Comment

1 comment

Author: Ailish Dougherty

Ailish Dougherty is a junior at Tufts University where she is majoring in Child Study and Human Development with a concentration in Child and Family Health. She swims distance freestyle for their Division III program in the NESCAC. Go Jumbos!

Current Swimming World Issue

Trouble Viewing on Smart Phones, Tablets or iPads? Click Here