Missy Franklin Sets Up Double, Tyler Clary Swimming Tough Schedule

For full coverage of the Arena Grand Prix in Austin, including an amazing photo gallery, go to our event landing page.

AUSTIN, Texas, January 20. During day three prelims, Missy Franklin set herself up to earn a pair of Arena Grand Prix titles tonight in Austin, thus pushing her series tally to 10.

Swimmers will be vying for cash prizes this evening with $500 on the line for first-place, $300 for second place and $100 for third place.

Women's 200 fly
Canada's Audrey Lacroix cruised to the top time in prelims with a 2:11.52, while Mission Viejo's Kathryn McLaughlin, just 15, qualified second in 2:13.76. Canada's Noemie Thomas wound up taking third in 2:13.96 as just eight swimmers competed this morning, moving all eight into the finale.

Crimson's Margaret D'Innocenzo (2:17.84), Palo Alto's Ally Howe (2:18.26), Mission Viejo's Chloe Sutton (2:21.27), SMU's Danielle Villars (2:22.58) and Golden West's Stephanie Samudro (2:24.58) also swam, thus taking spots in tonight championship heat.

Men's 200 fly
Stanford's Bobby Bollier touched out Club Wolverine's Tyler Clary, 2:01.81 to 2:01.97, for the top seed. Clary, who has doubled every day of the meet, is up for another tough double with a 200 fly/200 IM schedule this morning.

Island's Alec Page touched third in 2:03.06, while Dan Madwed of Club Wolverine finished fourth in 2:03.54. Santa Clara's Alex Wold (2:03.65), Club Wolverine's Michael Klueh (2:04.06), ITESM's Ramiro Ramirez Juarez (2:04.32) and Palo Alto's Andrew Liang (2:07.01) completed the championship field this morning.

Women's 100 breast
In another sparse field of just seven swimmers, Ashley Wanland led the way with a 1:10.38. SMU's Rachel Nicol (1:11.07) and Raminta Dvariskyte (1:12.15) placed second and third. Central Bucks' Allie Szekely (1:13.00), Longhorn's Karlee Bispo (1:13.48), Lakeside's Peyton Greenberg (1:13.99) and Golden West's Stephanie Samudro (1:19.07) also earned spots in the finale by way of just swimming.

Men's 100 breast
The men's 100 breast finale will have some big names involved. Mike Alexandrov ripped through prelims in the event with a 1:02.48, while Palo Alto's BJ Johnson qualified second in 1:03.90. New York Athletic Club's Mark Gangloff touched third in 1:04.10.

Trojan's Glenn Snyders (1:04.14), Crimson's Nick D'Innocenzo (1:04.31), Imri Ganiel (1:05.71), Ryan Lochte (1:06.55) and CLL's Guillermo Cardenas Sanchez (1:06.64) also grabbed transfer spots into the finale.

Women's 100 back
Colorado Stars' Missy Franklin turned in a 1:00.85 to dominate prelims with the potential of a sub-1:00 this evening. While she's already done it 14 times, including a top time of 58.33 at the 2012 London Olympics, a sub-1:00 in-season is always special.

Canada's Hilary Caldwell placed second in 1:02.36, while Miyuki Takemura finished third in 1:02.43. SMU's Isabella Arcila (1:02.71), Canada's Lauren Lavigna (1:04.07), Palo Alto's Ally Howe (1:04.48), First Colony's Simone Manuel (1:05.00) and Fort Worth's Summer Campbell (1:07.79) rounded out the top eight with Quinn Carrozza, the only other swimmer, drawing a disqualification.

Men's 100 back
Tucson Ford's Matt Grevers scorched the morning with a strong in-season time of 55.61, while Canada's Kelly Aspinall qualified second in 57.87. This event actually had a rare three heats in Austin. Arkady Vyatchanin earned third in 57.96. Eugene Godsoe of Stanford (57.97), Palo Alto's Geoffrey Cheah (58.21), LOSC's Jake Tapp (58.29), First Colony's Brett Pinfold (58.49) and Palo Alto's Andrew Liang (1:00.37) also made the championship heat.

Women's 200 IM
Missy Franklin will be looking for another pair of titles tonight as she qualified first in 2:17.55 on top of her 100 back top seed. She already has eight victories on the Arena Grand Prix circuit, and could push that tally into the double digits.

Longhorn's Karlee Bispo qualified second in 2:18.58, while Central Buck's Allie Szekely turned in a 2:18.76 for third. Island's Alexa Komarnycky (2:20.33), Crimson's Margaret D'Innocenzo (2:21.42), Lakeside's Leah Stevens (2:21.89), Longhorn's Quinn Carrozza (2:22.05) and First Colony's Simone Manuel (2:22.44) completed the top eight.

Men's 200 IM
GMAC's Andrew Ford turned in a 2:05.96 to earn the top seed in the men's 200 IM, while Tucson Ford's Samuel Rowen qualified second in 2:06.42. Ryan Lochte cruised into a third seed with a 2:06.52, while Palo Alto's Curtis Ogren placed fourth in 2:07.53. Conor Dwyer (2:07.88), Club Wolverine's Tyler Clary (2:08.07), Santa Clara's Alex Wold (2:08.35) and LR's Jerome Boucher (2:11.33) also snared spots in the finale.

Comments Off on Missy Franklin Sets Up Double, Tyler Clary Swimming Tough Schedule

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue