Men / Women’s Results Symmetrical, Longhorns over UofA & SMU, UofA over SMU

AUSTIN, TX, January 30. THE ninth-ranked University of Texas men’s swimming and diving team used five first-place finishes to defeat fifth-ranked Arizona, 180.50-159.50, and SMU, 196-134, on the second day of competition at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center, on Saturday, while the fifth-ranked UT women’s squad posted four first-place finishes to defeat No. 4 Arizona, 180.50-170.50, and No. 6 SMU, 204-148.

The men improve to 4-3 on the year. The women are now 7-1 in the dual meet season.

Arizona’s No. 5 men team defeated SMU 265-85 and their No. 7 women’s team upset No. 6 SMU 189-161.

On Saturday freshman Matthew McGinnis (Raleigh, N.C.) got Texas its first win of the day and first in a string of four-straight wins for the Longhorns by posting an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 1:36.05 in the 200-yard freestyle. Senior Andrew Davidson (Mt. Juliet, Tenn.) followed suit by winning the 100-yard backstroke in 48.89. Next, junior Christian Schurr (Austin, Texas) posted the top time in the 100-yard breaststroke (55.53) before senior Nathan O’Brien (Sammamish, Wash.) earned Texas its fourth-straight top finish, winning the 200-yard butterfly in a time of 1:49.12. Senior Rainer Kendrick (Birmingham, Ala.), who finished second to O’Brien in the 200-yard butterfly, won the 200-yard individual medley in an NCAA consideration time of 1:49.67 to capture the fifth and final title of the day for the Longhorns.

The Texas women started right where they left off, recording a first-place finish in the 200-yard medley relay. Freshman Hayley McGregory (Houston, Texas), sophomore Elizabeth Tinnon (Bowling, Green, Ky.), senior Sarah Wanezek (Brookfield, Wis.) and junior Kristy Siminski (Portage, Ind.) combined to touch the wall first with a time of 1:41.36.
McGregory added a first-place finish in the 100-yard backstroke (54.91) while the duo of Wanezek and Tinnon also continued to perform well for the Longhorns. Wanezek won the 50-yard freestyle – her third individual event title of the meet – in 23.05, while Tinnon, who won the 200-yard breaststroke on Friday, captured the sweep of the breaststroke swims by winning the 100-yard event today with a time of 1:02.40.

In diving, freshman Brian Smith (Carrollton, Texas) posted a lifetime best score of 263.25 in the men’s one-meter event and placed fourth. After a second-place performance in the women’s three-meter dive yesterday, senior Monica Maxwell (San Jose, Calif.) earned a third-place showing in the one-meter event on Saturday with her score of 274.25.

Emily Mason later won the 200y individual medley for Arizona (2:03.51) and the 400y freestyle team of freshmen Lacey Nymeyer and Courtney Cashion, Jessica Hayes and Jenna Gresdal won with a time of 3:22.20.

On the diving side, senior Claire Febvay won the 1-meter competition with 291.15 points and classmate Daniela Bemme was second (277.65 points).

For the UofA men, the 200y medley relay team of junior Dave Rollins, freshman Ivan Barnes, junior Lyndon Ferns and Simon Burnett won the race with a time of 1:29.01. In the 1650y freestyle, junior Tyler DeBerry finished first with a time of 15:31.16

Lyndon Ferns won the 50y freestyle with a time of 20.02, and the 400y free relay team of Ferns, freshman Jonas Persson, sophomore Adam Ritter and Burnett won with a time of 2:59.16.

Junior diver John Collier continued his winning streak by finishing first on both the 3 and 1-meter boards. This is the fourth consecutive time Collier has won on both boards tallying 583.75 points on the 3-meter and 322.75 points on the 1-meter.

SMU picked up two wins on the distaff side with an NCAA “A” cut for Flavia Rigamonti in the 1650 at 16:22.40 and Celina Lemmen winning the 200 free at 1:48.41

Next competition:

Texas’ men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams will face Texas A&M in the State Farm Lone Star Showdown.;

UT’s women’s squad will travel to College Station, Texas, to face the Aggies on Friday, Feb. 4;

The men’s team is back in action on Saturday, Feb. 5, at the Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swim Center where it will host it will host to the Aggies at 6 p.m.

Arizona’s Wildcats will resume competition on Feb. 12 when they host Arizona State at 1 p.m. (MST) at the Hillenbrand Aquatic Center.

Comments Off on Men / Women’s Results Symmetrical, Longhorns over UofA & SMU, UofA over SMU

Author: Archive Team


Current Swimming World Issue